Xfce Forum

Sub domains

You are not logged in.

#1 2016-07-11 16:17:23

Banshaku

[Solved] Possible bug while dragging an item on the desktop

I'm new to Xfce so I'm not sure yet if it's a setting I didn't find or it's an actual bug. I'm using
XFCE 4.12 on Xubuntu.

Expected behavior: When I drag a file/folder inside a window over an existing folder, the
icon should be highlighted and a rectangle will be shown about the current target. Thundar reacts
that way for it's visual cue and it is easy to understand.

Current behavior: If I drag a file/folder over a folder on the desktop, the folder doesn't highlight
and no rectangle is shown about the current target. There is no visual cue if the item will be moved
or not in that folder.

Because of this behavior/bug, while trying to organize my files manually on the desktop, my files
were vanishing and I didn't know why, until I figured out that I drag & dropped then in the nearest
folder by accident.

How can I confirm if it's a bug or not?

Thank you in advance for the information on the subject.

Last edited by Banshaku (2016-07-13 00:32:48)

#2 2016-07-12 00:31:50

MountainDewManiac

Re: [Solved] Possible bug while dragging an item on the desktop

Technically, your operation isn't on the folder, it's on the file you are moving (so I would not expect such an operation to cause the folder to be highlighted).

Banshaku wrote:

How can I confirm if it's a bug or not?

You could try asking on one of the Xfce email lists that the developers use (look for "developer"/"development" in the name):

https://mail.xfce.org/mailman/listinfo/

Might want to make sure to spell Thunar correctly if you do. They probably wouldn't get angry if you don't, lol, but you never know.

Regards,
MDM

Mountain Dew Maniac

How to Ask for Help <=== Click on this link

#3 2016-07-12 02:29:15

Banshaku