Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-08-17 13:47:24

otaviovb
Member
Registered: 2019-08-17
Posts: 3

a bug i wish was a feature

i had a bug on the wallpaper that got itself fixed with an update but i liked the result and wish it was a feature.
the bug was like this.
i pick an image as background like this and set to fill all the screen with will look at the image#1:

FluxBB bbcode test

then switching it to scale so it wont be bigger than the screen it would look like image#2:

FluxBB bbcode test

when it suposed to look like image#3

FluxBB bbcode test

after i updated my system the bug was fixed and the image would look normal like the image#3

but i guess we can all agree that image#2 is better looking as it makes an image that does not fit the screen be filled with a better colors than simply a simple color.
this is similar with a feature in plasma where you can make wallpaper look like this if you pick the burry style image#4

FluxBB bbcode test

can bug be made into a feature?

having to edit all the images to look like image#2 or image#4 would be a pain.

edit: i cant see the very images i linked here. am i the only one?

anyway i will link again without the img tag
image#1 https://ibb.co/gRThtZ2
image#2 https://ibb.co/hgx1Vdh
image#3 https://ibb.co/6g6GK6y
image#4 https://ibb.co/856d84Y

Last edited by otaviovb (2019-08-17 13:53:13)

Offline

#2 2019-08-17 14:18:51

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 6,963

Re: a bug i wish was a feature

When using hosting sites such as ibb, there is usually a section/tab labelled embed codes. On that page, there will be sample bbcode that you can use. The best option is to use "Thumbnail Image linked" code for this forum. So, for your first image, that would be

[url=https://ibb.co/gRThtZ2][img]https://i.ibb.co/gRThtZ2/wallpaper-filling.png[/img][/url]

Adding this in place of the "img" code that you used would create the following:
wallpaper-filling.png
...which is linked so that if someone clicks on it it will take them to the full image.

On the issue itself, it is odd that this was even possible. Xfce developers in that past have stated that xfdesktop is not an image manipulation program, so you may need to use something like gimp to create the image and then use that as your background.

Offline

#3 2019-08-17 14:39:34

otaviovb
Member
Registered: 2019-08-17
Posts: 3

Re: a bug i wish was a feature

well i guess it does not need to be an image manipulator program to do such thing. it just displays the image as background as in #1 with #3 on top of it to make it like #2
anyway if they wont do can anyone recoment an wallpaper manager that does this. i know there is plasma. but that thing is a memory hog. and anything kde related pulls a ton of kde application as depedencies making me have to fill my storage with software i will never use.

Offline

#4 2019-08-17 16:05:04

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 6,963

Re: a bug i wish was a feature

You could use imagemagick's convert function to automate the creation of a wallpaper to achieve that effect.

As an example, lets use this image:
pexels-photo-1624438.jpg

The following command (requires the imagemagick package):

convert pexels-photo-1624438.jpeg -resize 200% -filter Gaussian -blur 0x8 \( pexels-photo-1624438.jpeg -alpha set -virtual-pixel transparent -channel A -blur 0x8 -level 75%,100% +channel -format png -gravity center \) -composite back.png

...will create the following wallpaper (back.png):
back.png

When set as wallpaper with xfdesktop's style set to zoomed, you get something similar to the effect that you are looking for.
Screenshot-2019-08-17-12-03-00.png

And you can create a Thunar custom Action to automate this. Create a script called iwall with the following content:

#!/bin/bash
fname=$(echo "${1%.*}")
convert "$1" -resize 200% -filter Gaussian -blur 0x8 \( "$1" -alpha set -virtual-pixel transparent -channel A -blur 0x8 -level 75%,100% +channel -format png -gravity center \) -composite "$fname-inset".png

... and make it executable.

Then create a new thunar custom action with the command pointing to that script (with the %f parameter), for example:

/home/toz/bin/iwall %f

...and in the appearance conditions tab check of "images".

Edit: this works best with images that are in portrait mode.

Last edited by ToZ (2019-08-17 16:05:35)

Offline

#5 2019-08-17 16:14:00

otaviovb
Member
Registered: 2019-08-17
Posts: 3

Re: a bug i wish was a feature

thanks, i guess this is all i need

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB