Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-02-11 19:09:55

cjsmall
Member
Registered: 2012-12-02
Posts: 38

Cannot create an xfce4-terminal with a height of one line

Xubuntu 19.10
xfce4-terminal: 0.8.8-1

I can create a 2-line high xfce4-terminal window, but am unable to create one that is only 1-line high.  An attempt to do so creates a window somewhere between 2 and 3 lines high.  Here are some examples where I create various windows and then query them using Xwininfo.

% xfce4-terminal --geometry 80x3 &
% Xwininfo
    Width: 974
    Height: 71

% xfce4-terminal --geometry 80x2 &
% Xwininfo
    Width: 974
    Height: 48

% xfce4-terminal --geometry 80x1 &
% Xwininfo
    Width: 974
    Height: 69

I want to create a 1-lign high terminal to display a single line of monitored data.  Is there a way to accomplish this?  Is this a bug in the terminal code?

Note that I am able to successfully create a one line xterm window using:  xterm -geometry 80x1 &

Thanks for your input.

Offline

#2 2020-02-12 12:57:26

alcornoqui
Member
Registered: 2014-07-28
Posts: 701

Re: Cannot create an xfce4-terminal with a height of one line

cjsmall wrote:

I want to create a 1-line high terminal to display a single line of monitored data.  Is there a way to accomplish this?

I think the Generic Monitor (Genmon) panel plugin can serve you for this. The author is forum's own ToZ.

I can't speak for the Xfce Terminal situation.

Last edited by alcornoqui (2020-02-12 12:57:47)

Offline

#3 2020-02-12 20:13:49

cjsmall
Member
Registered: 2012-12-02
Posts: 38

Re: Cannot create an xfce4-terminal with a height of one line

alcornoqui, thanks for the suggestion.  This looks interesting, but I can't display my output in the panel or a tooltip-type pop-up.  I'm displaying a continually refreshing set of info related to the current music stream.  This requires a window positioned in one place that runs most of the width of one screen to handle the information.  This plugin looks very useful, but I don't see how it can help me with this situation.  I may switch to an xterm, but I first wanted to explore whether there was a workaround for xfce4-terminal to get the single-line window.

Offline

#4 2020-02-12 20:17:47

Aravisian
Member
Registered: 2019-08-17
Posts: 406

Re: Cannot create an xfce4-terminal with a height of one line

Would a conky serve that purpose?

Offline

#5 2020-02-12 21:01:21

cjsmall
Member
Registered: 2012-12-02
Posts: 38

Re: Cannot create an xfce4-terminal with a height of one line

Have never heard of that before.  I'll take a look.  Thanks.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB