Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-04-19 11:45:31

evert_mouw
Member
Registered: 2020-04-19
Posts: 4

Thunar custom toolbar wish

Although I like Thunar, I miss a custom toolbar with actions such as cut, copy, paste and delete. Would it possible to implement a plugin or does anybody know if something like this is already written?

Good old win-95 had this, Konqueror had this; I love how Geany implements a customized toolbar. Example (screenshot) here:

Custom toolbar for Geany

Suggestions welcome!

Last edited by evert_mouw (2020-04-19 11:49:53)

Offline

#2 2020-04-24 07:08:28

klingkling
Member
From: UK, London
Registered: 2020-04-22
Posts: 7
Website

Re: Thunar custom toolbar wish

I think there is a discussion on this platform here that sheds some light on similar issues wink


~ we accept the love (and software) we think we deserve ~

Offline

#3 2020-04-24 08:30:00

evert_mouw
Member
Registered: 2020-04-19
Posts: 4

Re: Thunar custom toolbar wish

klingkling wrote:

I think there is a discussion on this platform here that sheds some light on similar issues wink

No, that is about keyboard bindings (an interesting discussion but another one).

I'm really looking for a GUI toolbar, or some help with creating a plugin if possible.

Offline

#4 2020-04-24 12:07:22

eriefisher
Member
From: ON, Canada
Registered: 2008-10-25
Posts: 138

Re: Thunar custom toolbar wish

I not sure what the value is in having the items in the tool bar? Am I missing something? All these and more actions are in the context menu(right click). Putting them on the tool bar would just add another step no?

Offline

#5 2020-04-24 13:19:32

evert_mouw
Member
Registered: 2020-04-19
Posts: 4

Re: Thunar custom toolbar wish

eriefisher wrote:

I not sure what the value is in having the items in the tool bar? Am I missing something? All these and more actions are in the context menu(right click). Putting them on the tool bar would just add another step no?

No.

1. When there are many files, you cannot rightclick for those actions because no empty space is left. So you have to click the menu bar, click the action = another step.

2. I'm not trying to convince people about why I have this need, or discuss it. I was asking about how to make a toolbar possible, maybe by modifying the source code.

Offline

#6 2020-04-24 15:04:55

eriefisher
Member
From: ON, Canada
Registered: 2008-10-25
Posts: 138

Re: Thunar custom toolbar wish

You can always add a feature request. They will tell you if it's possible or not and why.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB