Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-08-26 07:31:50

dowx
Member
Registered: 2018-12-29
Posts: 30

Open new tab in Xfce4-terminal (and Firefox) instead of new window

Hi,
If Thunar is already running and I try to open new Thunar instance it opens new tab instead.
Is it possible to set this behavior in Xfce4-terminal and Firefox?
My system: Xubuntu 20.04

Offline

#2 2020-08-26 11:28:23

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 7,116

Re: Open new tab in Xfce4-terminal (and Firefox) instead of new window

dowx wrote:

If Thunar is already running and I try to open new Thunar instance it opens new tab instead.

How are you doing this? Thunar doesn't have this functionality. Are you pressing Ctrl+t from within an existing thunar window? Or automating a thunar start to do that? Or, which menuing system are you using to start thunar?

Is it possible to set this behavior in Xfce4-terminal and Firefox?

xfce4-terminal has a "--tab" parameter. You can change the existing menu item to start "xfce4-terminal --tab". You can do something similar with firefox by changing the menu item to run "firefox about:newtab"

Offline

#3 2020-08-26 14:15:30

dowx
Member
Registered: 2018-12-29
Posts: 30

Re: Open new tab in Xfce4-terminal (and Firefox) instead of new window

There's an option for this in Thunar's settings.

ToZ wrote:

Is it possible to set this behavior in Xfce4-terminal and Firefox?

xfce4-terminal has a "--tab" parameter. You can change the existing menu item to start "xfce4-terminal --tab". You can do something similar with firefox by changing the menu item to run "firefox about:newtab"

I already tested panel's launcher with --tab option. It opens additional instance of terminal with 2 tabs already opened wink It works properly only when executed from terminal's commandline.

Firefox shortcut works.

Last edited by dowx (2020-08-26 14:23:19)

Offline

#4 2020-08-26 21:31:46

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 7,116

Re: Open new tab in Xfce4-terminal (and Firefox) instead of new window

Ah, I forgot about that option.

For xfce4-terminal, use the following command:

 bash -c "pgrep xfce4-terminal && xfce4-terminal --tab || xfce4-terminal"

Basically that means if xfce4-terminal s running, use the "--tab" parameter, otherwise not.

Offline

#5 2020-08-26 22:29:15

dowx
Member
Registered: 2018-12-29
Posts: 30

Re: Open new tab in Xfce4-terminal (and Firefox) instead of new window

Works perfectly. Thank you.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB