Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-11-20 16:20:49

Celestral
Member
Registered: 2020-11-20
Posts: 6

Adding borders to .thunar .sidebar .view

Hello, I have a problem with adding a border to ".thunar .sidebar .view"
on this moment is my configuration as follows:

Code wrote:

.thunar .sidebar .view {
    background-color: #0089DA;
   border-left: 10px solid red;
   
}

This creates :

view
view

As you can see the border goes halfway!  Its supposed to go fully over the view tab.

How can i solve this , I would really like to make a border there.

Hope somebody can help me !

Last edited by Celestral (2020-11-20 16:24:49)

Offline

#2 2020-11-20 16:52:17

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 7,124

Re: Adding borders to .thunar .sidebar .view

Hello and welcome.

The ".view" class is for only the visible items in the list, not the whole container. To achieve what you looking to do, remove ".view" and it will apply to the whole container.

Offline

#3 2020-11-20 17:02:07

Celestral
Member
Registered: 2020-11-20
Posts: 6

Re: Adding borders to .thunar .sidebar .view

ToZ wrote:

Hello and welcome.

The ".view" class is for only the visible items in the list, not the whole container. To achieve what you looking to do, remove ".view" and it will apply to the whole container.

Hey thanks for the quick response !

i tried this too and it doesn't workout the way I want it , I put in the color etc in at the css and it shows a whole different border..

nope

Offline

#4 2020-11-20 17:24:57

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 7,124

Re: Adding borders to .thunar .sidebar .view

Celestral wrote:

I put in the color etc in at the css and it shows a whole different border..

Where did you put the css? Which theme are you using and can you post back the exact css.

Offline

#5 2020-11-20 17:34:25

Celestral
Member
Registered: 2020-11-20
Posts: 6

Re: Adding borders to .thunar .sidebar .view

ToZ wrote:
Celestral wrote:

I put in the color etc in at the css and it shows a whole different border..

Where did you put the css? Which theme are you using and can you post back the exact css.

I am modifying the Chicago 95 theme. The css is is a separate file linked to the main GTK3.0 file.

here is the file smile

Pastebin

Offline

#6 2020-11-20 18:05:36

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 7,124

Re: Adding borders to .thunar .sidebar .view

Chicago95's gtk-frames.css file uses images to create the border elements and these are overriding your tweaks.

If you add:

border-image-source: none;

...into your first ".thunar .sidebar" block, you'll see it turn red. The other frame borders will need to be tweaked as well to match I guess.

Offline

#7 2020-11-20 18:12:45

Celestral
Member
Registered: 2020-11-20
Posts: 6

Re: Adding borders to .thunar .sidebar .view

ToZ wrote:

Chicago95's gtk-frames.css file uses images to create the border elements and these are overriding your tweaks.

If you add:

border-image-source: none;

...into your first ".thunar .sidebar" block, you'll see it turn red. The other frame borders will need to be tweaked as well to match I guess.

Hey thanks a lot ! I would like to ask one more question...

What tools are handy for theme editing?

Thanks a lot for solving my issue. I really appreciate your knowledge!

Offline

#8 2020-11-20 19:09:23

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 7,124

Re: Adding borders to .thunar .sidebar .view

I mostly use the GTK Inspector. Have a read through this post for more information.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB