Xfce Forum

Sub domains

You are not logged in.

#1 2021-01-07 19:07:02

gosand

Renaming Launchers?

I've been using XFCE since 2005, and as a testament to how great it is, I've never joined the forum until now. smile

But for quite a while, I've wanted to ask this question:

Is it possible to rename Launchers?  I've looked, and I haven't been able to find that answer.  How hard would it be to implement that?

The reason I ask is because I like using launchers, I have several with multiple items in each (one for browsers, one for games, etc).  Let's say I want to add a game to the game launcher.  When I look at the Panel Preferences > Items, I just see Launcher, Launcher, Launcher.  I either have to correlate them to where they are on the screen, or open them for editing until I find the right one.  It would be nice to be able to edit the name of the launcher (e.g. Games-Launcher, Browser-Launcher, ...)

It's not a long or difficult process, but it's just not as clean as it could be.

#2 2021-01-07 19:52:15

ToZ
Administrator

Re: Renaming Launchers?

Hello and welcome long time user.

Unfortunately, the request from 8 years ago still remains. Feel free to comment in the report to bring some attention to it.

---

I can offer a potential workaround. You can quickly get the IDs & names of the launchers with this command:

for d in ~/.config/xfce4/panel/launcher-*; do for f in $d/*.desktop; do echo "$(basename $d): $(cat $f | grep ^Name | awk -F'=' '{print $2}')"; done; done

Once you have this, you can display it permanently via a zenity window:

zenity --info --title="Launcher Info" --width=250 --text="$(for d in ~/.config/xfce4/panel/launcher-*; do for f in $d/*.desktop; do echo "$(basename $d): $(cat $f | grep ^Name | awk -F'=' '{print $2}')"; done; done)"

...or transiently using a notification via: