Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2021-09-13 14:53:01

RezaHoss
Member
Registered: 2021-09-13
Posts: 3

Keyboard shortcuts not working in second language

I use debian 11 with Xfce DE. When my keyboard is in a non-english language (persian) keyboard shortcuts do not work. I should switch to english, use the shortcut and return to the non-english language. What is the problem and how can I solve it?

Offline

#2 2021-09-13 15:53:30

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 8,020

Re: Keyboard shortcuts not working in second language

See: https://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?id=15084. It leads to this bug report.

Does running:

xfsettingsd --replace

...make them work again?

Offline

#3 2021-09-13 19:09:47

RezaHoss
Member
Registered: 2021-09-13
Posts: 3

Re: Keyboard shortcuts not working in second language

ToZ wrote:
xfsettingsd --replace

Executing the code does not finish. I wait some minutes but executing does not finish.

Offline

#4 2021-09-13 19:16:44

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 8,020

Re: Keyboard shortcuts not working in second language

It's currently working. Check the keyboard shortcuts. To fork it into the background, run it as:

xfsettingsd --replace &

Offline

#5 2021-09-14 10:15:44

RezaHoss
Member
Registered: 2021-09-13
Posts: 3

Re: Keyboard shortcuts not working in second language

ToZ wrote:

It's currently working. Check the keyboard shortcuts.

No, the problem does not solve.

ToZ wrote:

To fork it into the background, run it as:

xfsettingsd --replace &

The output of the code is

reza-main@reza-lenovo:~$ xfsettingsd --replace &
[4] 4672
reza-main@reza-lenovo:~$ xfsettingsd: Another instance took over. Leaving...

When I press a button, the command proccess finishes. Before and after finishing the command execution, I have the problem.

Offline

#6 2021-09-14 11:00:19

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 8,020

Re: Keyboard shortcuts not working in second language

In that bug report, this helped with one reporter. I do believe you are experiencing that bug. Best to follow the progress there.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB