Xfce Forum

Sub domains

You are not logged in.

#1 2021-12-08 18:24:25

PseudAnonymous

Theming Woes

Okay, so, I'm not of a mind to brutalise myself right now and my former theme is just a bit too brutalist for my current frame of mind — I want something, I dunno ... else.

I played around with Themix /Oomox again for a bit, but just wasn't getting the result  wanted — I'm a music person, not a graphic designer.

So, I went trawling and a few things caught my eye — in particular the Suru Plus Aspromauros Carboniferous-Gold icon pack

Consequently, I set about designing (as best I could) a desktop theme that would suit them. And I think I haven't done too badly, all things considered (i.e. that I'm not a graphic designer and actually pretty bad at this kind of thing). I am, in fact, for once in my life, quite pleased with my handiwork ...

desktop.png

But, I've hit a couple of snags.

First of all, there doesn't seem to be a way in Themix /Oomox  to differentiate between the highlight when it's on something active and when it's inactive ... which leads to less than desirable results: in the above image, the highlight on the xfdesktop windowlist is perfect, but on an inactive item (i.e. on another workspace), it doesn't look quite so good ...

desktop-problem.png

Nor does it work in other situations; see the below image, in which I've picked out three examples — note the one on the right, which shows how clicking in the box brings up a perfectly functional menu (the fourth element in the list is, once again, highlighted exactly as I want things to be), but the default option is invisible otherwise, because it's the same colour as the button background until the button is clicked (see the other two).

desktop-problem2.png

Clearly, I need a more sophisticated tool than Themix /Oomox  (which?) ... or someone knowledgeable to tell me what I need to do in the CSS to resolve this.

Secondly, and rather bafflingly, there are some weird impacts upon apps and windows.