Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-07-18 11:14:47

jt1122
Member
Registered: 2021-03-26
Posts: 130

Using i3lock

Hi,

How do I set i3lock as the screen-lock app?.
My setup currently uses light-locker.

Thanks.

Offline

#2 2022-07-19 14:13:25

jt1122
Member
Registered: 2021-03-26
Posts: 130

Re: Using i3lock

I'll revise the question: how do I set which screen lock app xfce uses?.

Offline

#3 2022-07-19 16:38:14

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 9,053

Re: Using i3lock

If you are using xflock4 (via xfce4-power-manager & xfce4-session), then you can set  LockCommand. From "more /usr/bin/xflock4":

# First test for the command set in the session's xfconf channel
LOCK_CMD=$(xfconf-query -c xfce4-session -p /general/LockCommand)

# Lock by xscreensaver or gnome-screensaver, if a respective daemon is running
for lock_cmd in \
    "$LOCK_CMD" \
    "xfce4-screensaver-command --lock" \
    "xscreensaver-command -lock" \
    "gnome-screensaver-command --lock"
do
    if [ ! -z "$lock_cmd" ]; then
        $lock_cmd >/dev/null 2>&1 && exit
    fi
done

To set LockCommand, you would:

xfconf-query -c xfce4-session -p /general/LockCommand -t string -s i3lock --create

If you are using the whiskermenu or a keyboard shortcut, make sure they point to i3lock.

Offline

#4 2022-07-19 17:12:32

jt1122
Member
Registered: 2021-03-26
Posts: 130

Re: Using i3lock

Thanks.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB