Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-08-21 00:57:36

mauser
Member
Registered: 2019-01-23
Posts: 36

[SOLVED] Open programs don't show in the panel

Just recently the open programs no longer show in the panel anymore. Does anyone how I can get it back so they show again?

System:    Kernel: 5.17.0-3mx-amd64 [5.17.11-1~mx21+1] x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 10.2.1 
           parameters: BOOT_IMAGE=/vmlinuz-5.17.0-3mx-amd64 
           root=UUID=<filter> ro quiet splash 
           Desktop: Xfce 4.16.0 tk: Gtk 3.24.24 info: xfce4-panel wm: Compiz 0.8.18 vt: 7 
           dm: LightDM 1.26.0 Distro: MX-21.1_x64 Wildflower October 20  2021 
           base: Debian GNU/Linux 11 (bullseye) 
Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: Gigabyte model: B450 AORUS ELITE serial: <filter> 
           UEFI: American Megatrends LLC. v: F64a date: 02/17/2022 
CPU:       Info: 8-Core model: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen+ family: 17 (23) 
           model-id: 8 stepping: 2 microcode: 800820D cache: L2: 4 MiB 
           flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm bogomips: 118172 
           Speed: 2230 MHz min/max: 2200/3700 MHz boost: enabled Core speeds (MHz): 1: 2230 
           2: 3612 3: 2198 4: 2238 5: 2231 6: 2110 7: 2759 8: 2272 9: 2201 10: 2186 11: 2137 
           12: 2142 13: 2426 14: 3595 15: 2542 16: 2891 
           Vulnerabilities: Type: itlb_multihit status: Not affected 
           Type: l1tf status: Not affected 
           Type: mds status: Not affected 
           Type: meltdown status: Not affected 
           Type: spec_store_bypass mitigation: Speculative Store Bypass disabled via prctl 
           Type: spectre_v1 mitigation: usercopy/swapgs barriers and __user pointer sanitization 
           Type: spectre_v2 
           mitigation: Retpolines, IBPB: conditional, STIBP: disabled, RSB filling 
           Type: srbds status: Not affected 
           Type: tsx_async_abort status: Not affected 
Graphics:  Device-1: AMD Baffin [Radeon RX 550 640SP / RX 560/560X] vendor: XFX Pine 
           driver: amdgpu v: kernel bus-ID: 07:00.0 chip-ID: 1002:67ff class-ID: 0300 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.11 compositor: compiz v: 0.8.18 driver: loaded: amdgpu 
           display-ID: :0.0 screens: 1 
           Screen-1: 0 s-res: 1920x1080 s-dpi: 96 s-size: 508x285mm (20.0x11.2") 
           s-diag: 582mm (22.9") 
           Monitor-1: DVI-D-0 res: 1920x1080 hz: 60 dpi: 82 size: 598x336mm (23.5x13.2") 
           diag: 686mm (27") 
           OpenGL: 
           renderer: Radeon RX 550 Series (POLARIS11 DRM 3.44.0 5.17.0-3mx-amd64 LLVM 11.0.1) 
           v: 4.6 Mesa 20.3.5 direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: AMD Baffin HDMI/DP Audio [Radeon RX 550 640SP / RX 560/560X] vendor: XFX Pine 
           driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus-ID: 07:00.1 chip-ID: 1002:aae0 class-ID: 0403 
           Device-2: AMD Family 17h HD Audio vendor: Gigabyte driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
           bus-ID: 09:00.3 chip-ID: 1022:1457 class-ID: 0403 
           Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.17.0-3mx-amd64 running: yes 
           Sound Server-2: PulseAudio v: 14.2 running: yes 
Network:   Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet vendor: Gigabyte 
           driver: r8169 v: kernel port: f000 bus-ID: 03:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8168 class-ID: 0200 
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
           IF-ID-1: wgpia0 state: unknown speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 7.74 TiB used: 6.44 TiB (83.1%) 
           SMART Message: Unable to run smartctl. Root privileges required. 
           ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 maj-min: 259:0 model: PCIe SSD size: 476.94 GiB block-size: 
           physical: 512 B logical: 512 B speed: 31.6 Gb/s lanes: 4 type: SSD serial: <filter> 
           rev: ECFM22.9 temp: 27.9 C scheme: GPT 
           ID-2: /dev/sda maj-min: 8:0 vendor: HGST (Hitachi) model: HUS728T8TALE6L4 
           size: 7.28 TiB block-size: physical: 4096 B logical: 512 B speed: 6.0 Gb/s type: HDD 
           rpm: 7200 serial: <filter> rev: W414 scheme: GPT 
Partition: ID-1: / raw-size: 475.67 GiB size: 467.14 GiB (98.21%) used: 15.61 GiB (3.3%) fs: ext4 
           dev: /dev/dm-0 maj-min: 253:0 mapped: root.fsm 
           ID-2: /boot raw-size: 1024 MiB size: 973.4 MiB (95.06%) used: 189.6 MiB (19.5%) 
           fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p1 maj-min: 259:1 
           ID-3: /boot/efi raw-size: 256 MiB size: 252 MiB (98.46%) used: 274 KiB (0.1%) fs: vfat 
           dev: /dev/nvme0n1p2 maj-min: 259:2 
           ID-4: /home raw-size: 7.25 TiB size: 7.2 TiB (99.20%) used: 6.42 TiB (89.2%) fs: ext4 
           dev: /dev/dm-1 maj-min: 253:1 mapped: 1.home.fsm 
Swap:      Kernel: swappiness: 15 (default 60) cache-pressure: 100 (default) 
           ID-1: swap-1 type: partition size: 24.01 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) priority: -2 
           dev: /dev/dm-2 maj-min: 253:2 mapped: swap 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 43.1 C mobo: 16.8 C gpu: amdgpu temp: 44.0 C 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A gpu: amdgpu fan: 186 
Repos:     Packages: 2514 note: see --pkg apt: 2505 lib: 1325 flatpak: 9 
           No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list 
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian-stable-updates.list 
           1: deb http://deb.debian.org/debian bullseye-updates main non-free
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list 
           1: deb http://deb.debian.org/debian bullseye main non-free
           2: deb http://security.debian.org/debian-security bullseye-security main non-free
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list 
           1: deb [arch=amd64] https://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mx.list 
           1: deb http://mirrors.rit.edu/mxlinux/mx-packages/mx/repo/ bullseye main non-free
Info:      Processes: 365 Uptime: 32m wakeups: 1 Memory: 23.47 GiB used: 2.28 GiB (9.7%) 
           Init: SysVinit v: 2.96 runlevel: 5 default: 5 tool: systemctl Compilers: gcc: 10.2.1 
           alt: 10 Client: shell wrapper v: 5.1.4-release inxi: 3.3.06 
Boot Mode: UEFI

Last edited by KBar (2022-08-21 02:55:18)


I am command line illiterate. I use MX-21 Linux.

Offline

#2 2022-08-21 01:02:12

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 9,524

Re: [SOLVED] Open programs don't show in the panel

Do you have the "Windows Buttons" plugin added to the panel? What does the following return:

xfconf-query -c xfce4-panel -lv

Offline

#3 2022-08-21 01:06:05

mauser
Member
Registered: 2019-01-23
Posts: 36

Re: [SOLVED] Open programs don't show in the panel

ToZ wrote:

Do you have the "Windows Buttons" plugin added to the panel? What does the following return:

xfconf-query -c xfce4-panel -lv

I don't know. Everything was working fine until a dialog box opened when I was closing Firefox. I don't recall what the dialog box said and didn't understand it so I just closed it. After that the open programs wouldn't show in the panel anymore.
xfconf-query -c xfce4-panel -lv
/clipman/tweaks/never-confirm-history-clear    false
/configver                                     2
/panels                                        <<UNSUPPORTED>>
/panels/dark-mode                              true
/panels/panel-1/background-rgba                <<UNSUPPORTED>>
/panels/panel-1/background-style               0
/panels/panel-1/disable-struts                 false
/panels/panel-1/length                         100
/panels/panel-1/length-adjust                  true
/panels/panel-1/mode                           0
/panels/panel-1/nrows                          1
/panels/panel-1/plugin-ids                     <<UNSUPPORTED>>
/panels/panel-1/position                       p=12;x=0;y=0
/panels/panel-1/position-locked                true
/panels/panel-1/size                           42
/plugins/clipman/settings/save-on-quit         false
/plugins/clipman/tweaks/inhibit                true
/plugins/plugin-1                              datetime
/plugins/plugin-10                             weather
/plugins/plugin-10/cache-max-age               172800
/plugins/plugin-10/forecast/days               10
/plugins/plugin-10/forecast/layout             1
/plugins/plugin-10/labels/label0               3
/plugins/plugin-10/labels/label1               4
/plugins/plugin-10/labels/label2               5
/plugins/plugin-10/labels/label3               7
/plugins/plugin-10/labels/label4               9
/plugins/plugin-10/labels/label5               10
/plugins/plugin-10/labels/label6               11
/plugins/plugin-10/labels/label7               15
/plugins/plugin-10/labels/label8               16
/plugins/plugin-10/labels/label9               17
/plugins/plugin-10/location/latitude           40.967590
/plugins/plugin-10/location/longitude          -75.511853
/plugins/plugin-10/location/name               
/plugins/plugin-10/msl                         356
/plugins/plugin-10/offset                      -04:00
/plugins/plugin-10/power-saving                true
/plugins/plugin-10/round                       false
/plugins/plugin-10/scrollbox/animate           true
/plugins/plugin-10/scrollbox/color             rgba(0,0,0,0)
/plugins/plugin-10/scrollbox/font              Sans 15
/plugins/plugin-10/scrollbox/lines             1
/plugins/plugin-10/scrollbox/show              true
/plugins/plugin-10/scrollbox/use-color         false
/plugins/plugin-10/single-row                  true
/plugins/plugin-10/theme-dir                   /usr/share/xfce4/weather/icons/liquid
/plugins/plugin-10/timezone                    America/New_York
/plugins/plugin-10/tooltip-style               1
/plugins/plugin-10/units/altitude              1
/plugins/plugin-10/units/apparent-temperature  0
/plugins/plugin-10/units/precipitation         1
/plugins/plugin-10/units/pressure              1
/plugins/plugin-10/units/temperature           1
/plugins/plugin-10/units/windspeed             1
/plugins/plugin-11                             showdesktop
/plugins/plugin-12                             separator
/plugins/plugin-13                             launcher
/plugins/plugin-13/items                       <<UNSUPPORTED>>
/plugins/plugin-14                             launcher
/plugins/plugin-14/items                       <<UNSUPPORTED>>
/plugins/plugin-15                             separator
/plugins/plugin-15/expand                      true
/plugins/plugin-15/style                       0
/plugins/plugin-20                             whiskermenu
/plugins/plugin-3                              cpufreq
/plugins/plugin-4                              cpugraph
/plugins/plugin-5                              launcher
/plugins/plugin-5/items                        <<UNSUPPORTED>>
/plugins/plugin-6                              systray
/plugins/plugin-6/hide-new-items               true
/plugins/plugin-6/icon-size                    0
/plugins/plugin-6/known-items                  <<UNSUPPORTED>>
/plugins/plugin-6/known-legacy-items           <<UNSUPPORTED>>
/plugins/plugin-6/names-hidden                 <<UNSUPPORTED>>
/plugins/plugin-6/names-ordered                <<UNSUPPORTED>>
/plugins/plugin-6/names-visible                <<UNSUPPORTED>>
/plugins/plugin-6/show-frame                   false
/plugins/plugin-6/size-max                     24
/plugins/plugin-7                              eyes
/plugins/plugin-8                              separator
/plugins/plugin-9                              places
/plugins/plugin-9/mount-open-volumes           false
/plugins/plugin-9/show-bookmarks               false
/plugins/plugin-9/show-icons                   true
/plugins/plugin-9/show-recent                  false
/plugins/plugin-9/show-recent-clear            false
/plugins/plugin-9/show-volumes                 false

Last edited by mauser (2022-08-21 01:27:36)


I am command line illiterate. I use MX-21 Linux.

Offline

#4 2022-08-21 01:13:09

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 9,524

Re: [SOLVED] Open programs don't show in the panel

Right-click the panel and Select Panel > Panel Properties. Go to the Items tab and click on the Add button. Select Window Buttons and click Add. Then position it where you want it to be.

Offline

#5 2022-08-21 01:22:23

mauser
Member
Registered: 2019-01-23
Posts: 36

Re: [SOLVED] Open programs don't show in the panel

ToZ wrote:

Right-click the panel and Select Panel > Panel Properties. Go to the Items tab and click on the Add button. Select Window Buttons and click Add. Then position it where you want it to be.

That worked. Thank you very much. It's strange that it got removed without my knowledge. Thank you very much.


I am command line illiterate. I use MX-21 Linux.

Offline

#6 2022-08-27 21:25:26

k3dAR
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2022-07-27
Posts: 5

Re: [SOLVED] Open programs don't show in the panel

mauser wrote:

[...]I don't recall what the dialog box said and didn't understand it so I just closed it.

mauser wrote:

[...]It's strange that it got removed without my knowledge.

Strange is you don't see contradiction in this ^^^ two your messages ;-)
I suppose dialog you close be someting about Windows plugin left Panel Run it again?, maybe some like this? ;-)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB