Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2022-09-22 03:35:12

ahmeteid
Member
Registered: 2022-08-15
Posts: 20

xfdashboard stop zentile

I'm using xfdashboard and zentile in my dirsto(zorin lite xfce), when using zentile it's working good with all apps(tiling), but when i run xfdashoard, i notice it stop zentile from working and close it. any help to prevent that?

Offline

#2 2022-09-22 10:46:10

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 9,230

Re: xfdashboard stop zentile

Probably a zentile bug. See: https://github.com/blrsn/zentile/issues/23. It looks like it has an option to ignore windows in its config file if you want zentile to simply ignore xfdashboard if it causing issues.

Offline

#3 2022-09-22 11:34:54

ahmeteid
Member
Registered: 2022-08-15
Posts: 20

Re: xfdashboard stop zentile

ToZ wrote:

Probably a zentile bug. See: https://github.com/blrsn/zentile/issues/23. It looks like it has an option to ignore windows in its config file if you want zentile to simply ignore xfdashboard if it causing issues.

there is no option can ignore app:
# Window decorations will be removed if set to true
remove_decorations = false

# Adds spacing between windows
gap = 0

# How much to increment the master area size.
proportion = 0.1

[keybindings]
# key sequences can have zero or more modifiers and exactly one key.
# example: Control-Shift-t has two modifiers and one key.
# You can view which keys activate which modifier using the 'xmodmap' program.
# Key symbols can be found by pressing keys using the 'xev' program

# Tile the current workspace.
tile = "Control-Shift-t"

# Untile the current workspace.
untile = "Control-Shift-u"

# Make the active window as master.
make_active_window_master = "Control-Shift-m"

# Increase number of masters.
increase_master = "Control-Shift-i"

# Decrease the number of masters.
decrease_master = "Control-Shift-d"

# Cycles through the available layouts.
switch_layout = "Control-Shift-s"

# Moves focus to the next window.
next_window = "Control-Shift-n"

# Moves focus to the previous window.
previous_window = "Control-Shift-p"

# Increases the size of the master windows.
increment_master = "Control-bracketright"

# Decreases the size of the master windows.
decrement_master = "Control-bracketleft"

Last edited by ahmeteid (2022-09-22 11:37:32)

Offline

#4 2022-09-22 11:48:56

KBar
Moderator
Registered: 2021-11-05
Posts: 613

Re: xfdashboard stop zentile

The source code suggests there is:

# Zentile will ignore windows added to this list.
# You'll have to add WM_CLASS property of the window you want ignored.
# You can get WM_CLASS property of a window, by running "xprop WM_CLASS" and clicking on the window.
# ignore = ['ulauncher', 'gnome-screenshot']

In your case, try adding the following:

ignore = ['xfdashboard']

Remember to edit the subject of your topic to include the [SOLVED] tag once you're satisfied with the answers or have found a solution (in which case, don't forget to share it as well), so that other members of the community can quickly refer to it and save their time. Pretty please! tongue

Offline

#5 2022-09-22 13:37:37

ahmeteid
Member
Registered: 2022-08-15
Posts: 20

Re: xfdashboard stop zentile

KBar wrote:

The source code suggests there is:

# Zentile will ignore windows added to this list.
# You'll have to add WM_CLASS property of the window you want ignored.
# You can get WM_CLASS property of a window, by running "xprop WM_CLASS" and clicking on the window.
# ignore = ['ulauncher', 'gnome-screenshot']

In your case, try adding the following:

ignore = ['xfdashboard']

I'm using the executable release, I added that line in the config.tomal, but not working, i don't know if that because of executable version doesn't has that options in it's code, or xfdashboard has other problems
I tried to install the source compile version, but i can't install it

Last edited by ahmeteid (2022-09-22 13:38:29)

Offline

#6 2022-09-22 13:56:18

KBar
Moderator
Registered: 2021-11-05
Posts: 613

Re: xfdashboard stop zentile

Well, the executable is compiled from the source code.

Anyway, try restarting zentile. I don't know how it works but some programs need to be restarted in order to reread their updated initialization files.


Remember to edit the subject of your topic to include the [SOLVED] tag once you're satisfied with the answers or have found a solution (in which case, don't forget to share it as well), so that other members of the community can quickly refer to it and save their time. Pretty please! tongue

Offline

#7 Yesterday 20:01:17

ahmeteid
Member
Registered: 2022-08-15
Posts: 20

Re: xfdashboard stop zentile

[SOLVED]I solved that, I have found amazing new verison , i think it is improvment for zentile, it's name is cortile, it is the best , it's lite , very beautiful , work with hotcorner, it has solved a lot of problem , like ignore list, and ignore fxdashboard by default.
https://github.com/leukipp/cortile.
thanks

Last edited by ahmeteid (Yesterday 20:06:26)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB