Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2023-06-13 19:32:35

flipmokg
Member
Registered: 2023-06-13
Posts: 2

[SOLVED]Clicking on my bash script wont work

Hi everybody in here,
i got a problem with the geany program. I simply cannot compile a .rs file using the button inside geany.
Strangely enough the button works when I run geany in a terminal by typing in the shell: geany
So now I'm trying to make a bash script that runs geany in a terminal.
I have tried these scripts which will run geany but the button inside geany for compiling still won't work:

#!/bin/bash
xfce4-terminal -e "/bin/bash -c 'geany'"
#!/bin/bash
geany
#!/bin/bash
xfce4-terminal -e geany

So the button will only work when i type: geany in a terminal, but just not when clicking on one of these bash scripts.
Please help me? Why wont my bash script work when I click on it?

Last edited by flipmokg (2023-06-13 22:51:01)

Offline

#2 2023-06-13 22:23:04

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 11,485

Re: [SOLVED]Clicking on my bash script wont work

Hello and welcome.

Where is rustc located and is it in your $PATH?

which rustc
echo $PATH

You can configure geany's build commands via Build>Build Commands. If rustc is not in your PATH, you may need to enter in the full path to your rustc executable here.

It is somewhat strange that your bash files don't work. Is bash the main shell you use?

echo $SHELL

Also have a look at your ~/.xsession-errors file when the compile doesn't work to see if an error message is posted there.
Edit: Or maybe messages in the Compiler tab in geany.

Last edited by ToZ (2023-06-13 22:31:02)


Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#3 2023-06-13 22:44:41

flipmokg
Member
Registered: 2023-06-13
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED]Clicking on my bash script wont work

YES!!! Thanks to you i did what you said. I just had to put the full path to rustc in the Build Commands in geany. so now it compiles with no complaints. So now i dont need any script, eventhough i believe all the scripts works now. : )
Take care... and thank you

Edit: How to add SOLVED in the thread?

Last edited by flipmokg (2023-06-13 22:48:11)

Offline

#4 2023-06-13 22:49:52

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 11,485

Re: [SOLVED]Clicking on my bash script wont work

Glad it worked.

flipmokg wrote:

Edit: How to add SOLVED in the thread?

Edit your first post and pre-pend "[SOLVED]" to the Subject line.


Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

Registered users online in this topic: 0, guests: 1
[Bot] ClaudeBot

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB
Modified by Visman

[ Generated in 0.010 seconds, 8 queries executed - Memory usage: 529.46 KiB (Peak: 530.74 KiB) ]