Xfce Forum

Sub domains

You are not logged in.

#1 2024-07-25 17:44:35

uibits

[SOLVED] VLC dark theme no longer working

Since updating Manjaro Xfce it would seem that something has been broken. Setting vlc media player's Force window style option to qt5ct-style in the Preferences no longer works, which I used as a dark theme. The vlc interface doesn't change at all, and when I exit and start vlc again the setting returns to Fusion which is a light(?) theme. Attempting to select some other Force window style options eg. bb10barkresults in buggy super large buttons and the title bar menu loses all spacing between menu items.

I don't know if this should be move to General discussion as I'm not an expert on themes and maybe this is not related to anything Xfce, but seeing as folk were  able to point me to a fix re a theme issue recently in these forums, maybe they will know how to fix this vlc media player issue.

Thanks

Last edited by uibits (2024-08-26 17:30:47)

#2 2024-07-26 00:52:04

ToZ
Administrator

Re: [SOLVED] VLC dark theme no longer working

I doubt this is an Xfce issue, but rather a vlc or gtk/qt issue. That being said, does this link help?

Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

#3 2024-07-26 11:07:39

gogogadget

Run qt5ct in a terminal and check what theme is used, if it's the right one, reinstall qt5-styleplugins package, it's sometime needed.

EndeavourOS
Xfce+gtk3-classic (no CSD)+Picom

#4 2024-08-26 17:26:04

uibits

Thanks ToZ and gogogadget!

I have been quietly trying to get to the bottom of it. There is something mildly unstable when it comes to themes, just tickering with the order of selecting themes in VLC media player, revealed the 'qt5ct-style' today, but that didn't help get dark theme.

I tried 2 things which made it difficult to know what did what:

$ # (1) gtk-4.0 enabling??
$ mkdir -p ~/.config/gtk-4.0/