Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2025-02-20 20:07:55

factos7724
Member
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2025-02-20
Posts: 7
Windows 10Chrome 133.0

[SOLVED] genmon stops working since login

I'm using two genmon panels but one works fine but other one is not updating. The numbers stay as the value when I logged in
Popup does not appear when I put cursor on it, right click doesn't work and when I try to open panel preferences and edit the one with problem, it just freezes.

The one that works:

#!/bin/bash

CPU_USAGE=$(grep 'cpu ' /proc/stat | awk '{usage=($2+$4)*100/($2+$4+$5)} END {printf "%5.2f%%\n", usage}')

RAM_USAGE=$(free -m | awk 'NR==2{printf "%4.dMB\n", $3}')

echo " ️️Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo T8100: ${CPU_USAGE} "
echo " Samsung DDR2 4GB 667MHz     : ${RAM_USAGE} "

The other does not work:

#!/bin/bash

NetworkSpeedCheck() {    
    INTERFACE=$(ip route | grep default | awk '{print $5}')

    RX_CURR=$(cat /sys/class/net/$INTERFACE/statistics/rx_bytes)
    TX_CURR=$(cat /sys/class/net/$INTERFACE/statistics/tx_bytes)

    sleep 1

    RX_NEXT=$(cat /sys/class/net/$INTERFACE/statistics/rx_bytes)
    TX_NEXT=$(cat /sys/class/net/$INTERFACE/statistics/tx_bytes)

    RX_DIFF=$((RX_NEXT - RX_CURR))
    TX_DIFF=$((TX_NEXT - TX_CURR))

    RX_SPEED=$(echo "scale=2; $RX_DIFF * 8 / 1024" | bc)
    TX_SPEED=$(echo "scale=2; $TX_DIFF * 8 / 1024" | bc)
}

NetworkConnCheck() {
    IFACE=$(ip route | awk '/default/ {print $5}')

    if [[ -z "$IFACE" ]]; then
        NetType="OFF"
    elif [[ "$IFACE" == "w"* ]]; then
        NetType="WiFi"
    elif [[ "$IFACE" == "e"* ]] || [[ "$IFACE" == "eth"* ]]; then
        NetType="LAN"
    else
        NetType="Unknown"
    fi
}

NetworkSpeedCheck
NetworkConnCheck

printf " %s S: %4.1f R: %4.1fKbps \n" "$NetType" "$RX_SPEED" "$TX_SPEED"
printf " %s" "$(date "+%Y-%m-%d %H:%M")"

It's just common cpu and ram usage, network checker and clock.
The weird thing is it was completely fine like 10 minuates ago.

I used function rather than comments because I just prefer this way, Can this be a problem?

Last edited by factos7724 (2025-02-23 02:31:09)


Manjaro linux 6.12.4-1 Xfce 4.18

Offline

#2 2025-02-20 22:14:27

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 11,817
LinuxFirefox 135.0

Re: [SOLVED] genmon stops working since login

Hello and welcome.

That script should work and the functions don't matter. If you can run it properly in a terminal window it should work in genmon. Try restarting the panel:

xfce4-panel -r

...to see if that fixes it.

Also look at your log files, ~/.xsession-errors if you have one or he systemd journal, to see if there are any error messages there.


Mark solved threads as [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find solutions.
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#3 2025-02-21 07:07:11

factos7724
Member
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2025-02-20
Posts: 7
Windows 10Chrome 133.0

Re: [SOLVED] genmon stops working since login

ToZ wrote:

Hello and welcome.

That script should work and the functions don't matter. If you can run it properly in a terminal window it should work in genmon. Try restarting the panel:

xfce4-panel -r

...to see if that fixes it.

Also look at your log files, ~/.xsession-errors if you have one or he systemd journal, to see if there are any error messages there.

Thanks for the reply. but the command just updates the value rather than keep tracking.

.xsession-errors contains an error about genmon but the time it broke out is when I tried to open genmon panel settings, so I cannot tell this line can help or not.

xfce4-panel-Message: 15:38:43.436: Plugin genmon-5 has been automatically restarted after crash.

the full content is too long to type here so I uploaded on my drive
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ … drive_link


Manjaro linux 6.12.4-1 Xfce 4.18

Offline

#4 2025-02-21 11:00:05

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 11,817
LinuxFirefox 135.0

Re: [SOLVED] genmon stops working since login

Which distro and version of Xfce are you running?


Mark solved threads as [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find solutions.
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#5 2025-02-21 13:41:54

factos7724
Member
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2025-02-20
Posts: 7
Windows 10Chrome 133.0

Re: [SOLVED] genmon stops working since login

ToZ wrote:

Which distro and version of Xfce are you running?

Sorry for not mentioning at the first topic, Currently using Manjaro 6.12.4 and Xfce 4.18.


Manjaro linux 6.12.4-1 Xfce 4.18

Offline

#6 2025-02-21 17:27:29

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 11,817
LinuxFirefox 134.0

Re: [SOLVED] genmon stops working since login

In your genmon settings, what is the cycle period?

Also, can you post back:

ps -ef | grep genmon

Mark solved threads as [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find solutions.
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#7 2025-02-21 18:52:20

factos7724
Member
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2025-02-20
Posts: 7
Windows 10Chrome 133.0

Re: [SOLVED] genmon stops working since login

ToZ wrote:

In your genmon settings, what is the cycle period?

Also, can you post back:

ps -ef | grep genmon

Both panels' cycle period is set to 1 sec.


The return of the command is:

[foch@foch-7675hnk 바탕화면]$ ps -ef | grep genmon
foch         931     918  1 03:37 ?        00:00:01 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/wrapper-2.0 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/plugins/libgenmon.so 1 16777224 genmon 일반 감시기 명령의 출력을 보여줍니다.
foch        1572     918  7 03:38 ?        00:00:03 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/wrapper-2.0 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/plugins/libgenmon.so 2 16779551 genmon 일반 감시기 명령의 출력을 보여줍니다.
foch        2315    1572  0 03:39 ?        00:00:00 /bin/bash /home/foch/.config/genmon-scripts/nett.sh
foch        2324    2076  0 03:39 pts/0    00:00:00 grep --colour=auto genmon

PID 931 is the working one

Last edited by factos7724 (2025-02-21 18:52:45)


Manjaro linux 6.12.4-1 Xfce 4.18

Offline

#8 2025-02-21 19:18:07

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 11,817
LinuxFirefox 134.0

Re: [SOLVED] genmon stops working since login

The crash report is a red herring because it points to genmon-5 which isn't one of the two that are currently running.

nett.sh must be the script for the first genmon (working one). What is the name of the second script and is it currently running if you grep it via "ps -ef"? And if you run this script in a terminal window, does it execute properly?


Mark solved threads as [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find solutions.
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#9 2025-02-22 12:09:53

factos7724
Member
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2025-02-20
Posts: 7
Windows 10Chrome 133.0

Re: [SOLVED] genmon stops working since login

ToZ wrote:

The crash report is a red herring because it points to genmon-5 which isn't one of the two that are currently running.

nett.sh must be the script for the first genmon (working one). What is the name of the second script and is it currently running if you grep it via "ps -ef"? And if you run this script in a terminal window, does it execute properly?


That's because maybe I tried to remove and re-create the panel. I'll post the right specific information on this thread.


1. panel info
The working one is genmon-1, tskmgr.sh
One with problem is genmon-2 , nett.sh


2. xfce4-panel -r
it still just updates the value


3. crash report
xfce4-panel-Message: 20:35:12.076: Plugin genmon-2 has been automatically restarted after crash.

there's nothing saying about genmon right after booting but when I try to open genmon panel settings, freeze, crash and the line above is created
I uploaded full report on my drive: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ … drive_link


4. cycle period and ps -ef | grep genmon
cycle period is same 1 second and the return of the commend is

[foch@foch-7675hnk 바탕화면]$ ps -ef | grep genmon
foch         936     920  1 20:51 ?        00:00:01 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/wrapper-2.0 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/plugins/libgenmon.so 1 16777224 genmon 일반 감시기 명령의 출력을 보여줍니다.
foch         937     920  0 20:51 ?        00:00:00 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/wrapper-2.0 /usr/lib/xfce4/panel/plugins/libgenmon.so 2 16777225 genmon 일반 감시기 명령의 출력을 보여줍니다.
foch        3287     937  0 20:52 ?        00:00:00 /bin/bash /home/foch/.config/genmon-scripts/nett.sh
foch        3303    3102  0 20:52 pts/0    00:00:00 grep --colour=auto genmon


5. ps -ef and running on terminal
both genmon-1 and 2 is shown when entering the command
https://drive.google.com/drive/u/0/fold … yPeYoNdkFh

nett.sh works fine on terminal

[foch@foch-7675hnk 바탕화면]$ ~/.config/genmon-scripts/nett.sh
 LAN S:  0.0 R:  0.0Kbps 
 2025-02-22 20:59

Last edited by factos7724 (2025-02-22 12:11:00)


Manjaro linux 6.12.4-1 Xfce 4.18

Offline

#10 2025-02-22 21:17:56

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 11,817
LinuxFirefox 135.0

Re: [SOLVED] genmon stops working since login

Can you try changing the cycle period to 3.00s - see if that helps. It will only refresh every 3 seconds instead of 1.

If not, what locale are you using?

And finally, I'm not sure if this will work on Manjaro or not (it works on Arch), try to get a crash backtrace via:

export DEBUGINFOD_URLS=https://debuginfod.archlinux.org
sudo -E coredumpctl debug NNNNN

...where "NNNNN" is the pid of the crashed process which you can get from:

coredumpctl --no-pager

Mark solved threads as [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find solutions.
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#11 2025-02-22 23:23:49

factos7724
Member
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2025-02-20
Posts: 7
Windows 10Chrome 133.0

Re: [SOLVED] genmon stops working since login

ToZ wrote:

Can you try changing the cycle period to 3.00s - see if that helps. It will only refresh every 3 seconds instead of 1.

If not, what locale are you using?

And finally, I'm not sure if this will work on Manjaro or not (it works on Arch), try to get a crash backtrace via:

export DEBUGINFOD_URLS=https://debuginfod.archlinux.org
sudo -E coredumpctl debug NNNNN

...where "NNNNN" is the pid of the crashed process which you can get from:

coredumpctl --no-pager

changing the period fixes the problem. but if I have similer bug, changing the period is the only way? I'm questioning because the tskmgr.sh, genmon-1 works ok with 1 second period.


Manjaro linux 6.12.4-1 Xfce 4.18

Offline

#12 2025-02-23 01:13:48

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 11,817
LinuxFirefox 135.0

Re: [SOLVED] genmon stops working since login

I think what is happening is that it takes longer that 1 second for the script to fully execute, which means you are running multiple simultaneous copies. You can try lowering the cycle period to a point just above when it crashes.

The other options would be to put something at the beginning of the script to check if its already running, and if, exit.


Mark solved threads as [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find solutions.
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#13 2025-02-23 02:30:52

factos7724
Member
From: Seoul, South Korea
Registered: 2025-02-20
Posts: 7
Windows 10Chrome 133.0

Re: [SOLVED] genmon stops working since login

ToZ wrote:

I think what is happening is that it takes longer that 1 second for the script to fully execute, which means you are running multiple simultaneous copies. You can try lowering the cycle period to a point just above when it crashes.

The other options would be to put something at the beginning of the script to check if its already running, and if, exit.

Thanks for the help, I'll try that way.


Manjaro linux 6.12.4-1 Xfce 4.18

Offline

Registered users online in this topic: 0, guests: 1
[Bot] ClaudeBot

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB
Modified by Visman

[ Generated in 0.014 seconds, 8 queries executed - Memory usage: 633.84 KiB (Peak: 666.68 KiB) ]