Xfce Forum

Sub domains

You are not logged in.

#1 2007-03-23 14:51:14

f0rk

Version and Transparency Confusion

Hi, thank you for taking the time to read this, I'm a long-time Linux user and I'm just starting out with Xfce, from what I've used of it so far, I really, really like it.  ;D

However, I need a bit of assistance and clarification.

I have installed Xubuntu 6.10, and I chose that distribution because it ships with Xfce 4.4 (which is the version I wanted). However, after installation, when I click on "About XFCE" from the Applications menu, it says the version I'm running is actually 4.3.90.2. That was a bit confusing to me.

Also, when I open the Window Manager Tweaks window, I don't have the option to enable transparency  yikes. I was under the impression from the tour on the Xfce website that this is where I ought to go to enable that.

I'm still rather new to Xfce (I'm a former fluxbox user).

So, I guess my questions are, what's the deal with the two different version numbers? And also, how do I enable the transparency? As I said I looked in the Window Manager tweaks and saw nothing in there for that. Do I need to install some plugins, or is it just a matter of my having mistakenly not enabled something?

Any help you guys could lend me is much appreciated.

#2 2007-03-23 14:54:04

f0rk

Re: Version and Transparency Confusion

Ah, I found a thread that explains it:

The version of XFCE built into Xubuntu 6.10 (Edgy Eft) does not have the compositor supported compiled in.