Xfce Forum

Sub domains

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-07-28 20:57:02

xtian

[Solved] Starting XFCE from command line breaks permissions for mounting USB...

I'm upgrading from Fedora 11 to Fedora 15 and opted to use XFCE as my desktop environment. Woot!

I frequently use my laptop as a webdev test box, I therefore prefer to boot to run level 3. Fedora 15 uses a symbolic link to manage the run level,

lrwxrwxrwx. 1 root root 1 Jul 23 10:57 default.target -> /lib/systemd/system/runlevel5.target
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root 1 Jul 25 18:13 default.target.save -> /lib/systemd/system/runlevel3.target

After I changed this pointer to run level 3 and launch XFCE from the command line using "startxfce4", I was unable to access my USB thumb drive. I can see it mounted in Thunar, but I can't open it. Changing the default back to run level 5 fixed the problem. I am new to customizing the DEs and WMs. I know .xinitrc can contain customization and configuration settings for managing the DE environment.

What do I need to do to match the start parameters of run level 5 for the command "startxfce4"?

#2 2011-07-28 21:03:00

Nick
Dev
Website

Re: [Solved] Starting XFCE from command line breaks permissions for mounting USB...

Better ask this at the Fedora forums or mailing list.

#3 2011-07-29 20:10:33

xtian

Re: [Solved] Starting XFCE from command line breaks permissions for mounting USB...

@Nick, actually I did and I'm not yet getting an answer sad
Why is this a distro problem and not the DE? Because, and I'm only guessing on this, I was thinking maybe Xfce is not launching with the same "parameters" or startup apps, or something similar. The fluxbox WM has a feature in it's startup file. It strings together different environment (?) applications with the ampersand. The fluxbox startup file (~/.fluxbox/startup)

# And last but not least we start fluxbox.
    # Because it is the last app you have to run it with ''exec'' before it.