Xfce Forum

Sub domains

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-19 11:21:51

Korrode
Website

Fullscreen media playback and 'Separate X screens'

Hi Xfce community,

Firstly, thank you to the developers and surrounding community of Xfce for producing what has proven for me to be the most exceptional desktop environment in existence. I have been using Xfce full-time for over 3 years. The blend of functionality, configurability and speed has put me in a situation where no other DE comes even close to being good enough for my purposes.

I run ArchLinux, however i'm something of an unusual case in that ArchLinux is a rolling-release distro but rather than rolling with it I make a snapshot of the repo every 9-12 months and run off that. The reason I do this is that I really like Arch for a number of reasons, but i'm not interested in regularly risking the introduction of new problems/bugs that can come with updating software versions on a (potentially) daily basis. I make my snapshot, address any issues i find myself, then can feel secure that my setup will continue working day in, day out.

In August I made a new snapshot of the Arch repo and today have finally gotten around to installing from that.

The Problem:
I have 2 screens, they are configured using "Separate X screens" (that's what the configuration tool that comes with nVidia's binary driver calls it, I believe it's an accurate term), not Xinerama or 'TwinView' or anything like that. Separate X Screens means I cannot drag applications from one screen to another, but it eliminates most all issues with fullscreen applications being able to stay properly confined to one screen.