Xfce Forum

Sub domains

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-05 07:47:08

reset042

After Ubuntu, XFCE is just right

I've moved to XFCE on Debian and I'm absolutely delighted! I realise I'm stating the obvious below, and please forgive me for that, but I wanted to express the reasons for my gratitude to everyone involved in creating XFCE.

The speed improvement compared to my old Ubuntu Gnome Unity setup is very impressive indeed. Even with Compiz installed, XFCE is so much quicker and more responsive. (I understand what some might say about installing Compiz on XFCE... But as I've been using Compiz for so many years, it has become essential. For me, the cube is the fastest desktop switcher, and I switch desktops a lot; it simply feels wrong to operate a computer without the cube. Anyway, hey - what's wrong with fast AND shiny!)

I found Ubuntu becoming ever more frustrating and annoying - a tablet interface on a desktop computer? Ahem. I'll always be very grateful to the Ubuntu team; they helped me move away from Microsoft Windows in the first place. But in the past couple of years they've been going in exactly the opposite direction to how I wish to interract with my computer. With the XFCE interface, I'm happy again.

More and more, Ubuntu seems to be tightly integrating stuff like Zeitgeist that should, in my view, be optional. My CPU should not be whizzing away all the time doing things I don't need, and do not want. With Debian XFCE I have choice again and that's very satisfying.

In the past week that I've had Debian XFCE installed my computer hasn't crashed or frozen once. With Ubuntu it was happening every day.

I can see that I'm going to enjoy my computing a lot more from now on. Thanks again.

#2 2013-04-05 09:55:52

gnome_refugee

Re: After Ubuntu, XFCE is just right