Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#26 2016-06-02 11:25:52

Enverex
Member
Registered: 2016-06-02
Posts: 1

Re: Dual monitor: panel is always on the left one

This doesn't seem to work (at least not anymore). Doing "xfconf-query -v -c xfce4-panel -p /panels/panel-1/output-name -s VGA1" results in the error that output-name "doesn't exist in channel". Doing a -l to get a list of options shows lots of options for panel-1, but output-name is not one of them.

Has this been removed or superseded since? How are you supposed to do this now?

Offline

#27 2016-06-02 12:40:27

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 3,900

Re: Dual monitor: panel is always on the left one

With both monitors enabled, go to the panel preferences and you should get an "Output" option on the Display tab. Select the appropriate output and the xfconf key will be created. I believe the internal monitor names changed in 4.12.


How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#28 2016-08-05 07:39:28

cen
Member
Registered: 2016-08-05
Posts: 1

Re: Dual monitor: panel is always on the left one

Setting the output to the desired monitor does indeed work, kinda. The problem is if you move the monitor to the left or to the right the labels are reassigned and it screws up everything. Primary monitor becomes #2 if you move secondary monitor to the left.

What is really missing is an option to choose Primary monitor from the dropdown. That would fix everything.

Last edited by cen (2016-08-05 07:43:06)

Offline

#29 2016-08-08 20:34:29

wnasich
Member
Registered: 2016-08-08
Posts: 1

Re: Dual monitor: panel is always on the left one

Same here, using Xfce 4.12 on xubuntu 16.04.4

Offline

#30 2017-05-04 13:24:00

rubenvann
Member
Registered: 2017-05-04
Posts: 2

Re: Dual monitor: panel is always on the left one

I still have this issue on xfce 4.12 on mint x64 18.1...
I have been spamming the bug trackers on ubuntu and xfce as well (I'm not sure what the appropriate place is...)

Offline

#31 2017-05-04 14:21:00

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 3,900

Re: Dual monitor: panel is always on the left one

I have been spamming the bug trackers on ubuntu and xfce as well

With respect to this bug report, please note that the patch has been applied to the git tree only and is not available in the 4.12 code (which you are running). If you want to test this fix, you'll need to build xfce4-panel from source.

*Keep in mind that the current xfce4-panel git code is different from the 4.12 code in that it has been migrated to GTK3 and is for testing purposes only. That being said, it appears pretty stable (but I haven't tested all of the functionality).


How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#32 2017-05-05 11:27:10

rubenvann
Member
Registered: 2017-05-04
Posts: 2

Re: Dual monitor: panel is always on the left one

ToZ wrote:

I have been spamming the bug trackers on ubuntu and xfce as well

With respect to this bug report, please note that the patch has been applied to the git tree only and is not available in the 4.12 code (which you are running). If you want to test this fix, you'll need to build xfce4-panel from source.

*Keep in mind that the current xfce4-panel git code is different from the 4.12 code in that it has been migrated to GTK3 and is for testing purposes only. That being said, it appears pretty stable (but I haven't tested all of the functionality).

I did not realize this indeed. Thanks for pointing it out. To avoid confusion, I referred to your post on the xfce bugtracker.

Last edited by rubenvann (2017-05-05 11:27:59)

Offline

#33 2017-10-19 07:55:06

13dagger
Member
Registered: 2017-10-19
Posts: 1

Re: Dual monitor: panel is always on the left one

framethrower wrote:

Good morning.

It took me far to long to find a solution that works on my laptop and that's why i wanted to share my tiny Move xfce4-panel to external monitor script.

Maybe it'll save you some time and frustration.

---

The script is executed on startup and i currently execute it again manually if the external monitor is connected/disconnected.

Depending on your setup and layout (left of / right of) the xrandr lines below are probably not needed!

The important part that actually moves the xfce4-panel to the external monitor and/or back to the internal are the lines that begin with xfconf-query.

Notes:

  • My internal laptop monitor is named LVDS-0 (1280x800)

  • My external monitor is named VGA-0 (1920x1080)

  • My external monitor is on the right!

  • You need to replace all the display names, resolutions and positions with values fitting your system!

  • To get the names of your connected displays execute this in a terminal:

    xrandr --query

Here's the script: (~/setup-displays.sh)

#!/bin/bash

# Check if our external monitor name is in the list connected displays
grep_output=`xrandr | grep VGA-0`

if [ "$grep_output" != "" ]; then
    # The external monitor IS connected. Put it right of there internal and move xfce-panel there

    # Set up the displays
    xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode 1920x1080 --preferred --primary --pos 1280x0 --output LVDS-0 --mode 1280x800 --pos 0x0

    # And move the panel to the external display
    xfconf-query -v -c xfce4-panel -p /panels/panel-0/output-name -s VGA-0
else
    # The external monitor IS NOT connected.
    # Update monitor settings and move xfce-panel to internal monitor.
    # This becomes necessary if the external display was connected before and is now gone this will re-setup everything for single monitor use.

    # Set up the display
    xrandr --verbose --output LVDS-0 --mode 1280x800 --pos 0x0

    # And move the panel to the internal display
    xfconf-query -v -c xfce4-panel -p /panels/panel-0/output-name -s LVDS-0
fi
exit

Well, hope that helps you a little to tame this annoying shortcoming.

Best regards!
Matthias

http://framethrower.de


I found out that sometimes this solution needs changes. I have XFCE 4.12 for Manjaro and changed your script to

#!/bin/bash

# Check if our external monitor name is in the list connected displays
grep_output=`xrandr | grep "HDMI1 connected"`

if [ "$grep_output" != "" ]; then
    # The external monitor IS connected. Put it right of there internal and move xfce-panel there

    # Set up the displays
    xrandr --output HDMI1 --mode 1920x1080 --preferred --primary --pos 1920x0 --output eDP1 --mode 1920x1080 --pos 0x0

    # And move the panel to the external display
    xfconf-query -v -c xfce4-panel -p /panels/panel-0/output-name -s monitor-1
    xfconf-query -v -c xfce4-panel -p /panels/panel-1/output-name -s monitor-1
else
    # The external monitor IS NOT connected.
    # Update monitor settings and move xfce-panel to internal monitor.
    # This becomes necessary if the external display was connected before and is now gone this will re-setup everything for single monitor use.

    # Set up the display
    xrandr --verbose --output eDP1 --mode 1920x1080 --pos 0x0

    # And move the panel to the internal display
    xfconf-query -v -c xfce4-panel -p /panels/panel-0/output-name -s monitor-0
    xfconf-query -v -c xfce4-panel -p /panels/panel-1/output-name -s monitor-0
fi
exit

Note:
1. grep "HDMI1 connected" - because it just shows "HDMI1 disconnected" when second monitor is out.
2. xfconf-query sets monitor to "monitor-1" instead of HDMI1. To figure out for your system, change manually thru panel settings and run

xfconf-query -c xfce4-panel -p /panels/panel-0/output-name

Wish this will help someone.

Offline

#34 2017-12-05 16:44:18

SjaakRake
Member
Registered: 2017-12-05
Posts: 1

Re: Dual monitor: panel is always on the left one

I have the same problem. In my case my secondary display is above my main. What I have found out is that this bug only seems to be triggered when setting the position at once, but not when changing it gradually. So at the moment my solutions consists of a chain of xrandr commands, starting out positioning the screen in the top right corner, and over a series of steps changing it to be right above my main screen. I have to keep a 1 pixel offset on the x-axis at all times though.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB