Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-10-12 07:11:53

sushi
Member
Registered: 2019-04-22
Posts: 39

[SOLVED] Panel showing the wrong icon.

Hi,

I have the icon for the hdspmixer that is not used by the panel, instead /usr/share/icons/hicolor/scalable/apps/xfwm4-default.svg from hicolor is used. The hdspmixer icon is displayed everywhere (appfinder, whisker menu, etc.) only not in the panel. Some screenshot :

In the panel (the first left icon) :

1570864126.png

In appfinder (the one in the middle) :

1570864189.png

Any idee ?

Thank you.

Last edited by sushi (2019-10-12 13:42:47)

Offline

#2 2019-10-12 07:51:37

Aravisian
Member
Registered: 2019-08-17
Posts: 132

Re: [SOLVED] Panel showing the wrong icon.

sushi wrote:

Hi,

I have the icon for the hdspmixer that is not used by the panel, instead /usr/share/icons/hicolor/scalable/apps/xfwm4-default.svg from hicolor is used. The hdspmixer icon is displayed everywhere (appfinder, whisker menu, etc.) only not in the panel. Some screenshot :

In the panel (the first left icon) :

https://pix.tdct.org/upload/img/1570864126.png

In appfinder (the one in the middle) :

https://pix.tdct.org/upload/img/1570864189.png

Any idee ?

Thank you.

Icon size? There may not be an appropriately sized (and indexed) icon for the panel.

Offline

#3 2019-10-12 12:19:19

sushi
Member
Registered: 2019-04-22
Posts: 39

Re: [SOLVED] Panel showing the wrong icon.

Thanks Aravisian !

I have this icon in almost all hicolor (/apps) sizes without success. In fact, where from is the panel using the icons to display them ?

Offline

#4 2019-10-12 12:24:17

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,877

Re: [SOLVED] Panel showing the wrong icon.

Which version of xfwm4 are you using?

Prior to 4.13.3 (or 4.14 pre2), xfwm4 relied only on the (I believe) NET_WM_ICON embedded EMWH hint to get the icon. See this post for an explanation and workarounds using xseticon.

As of 4.13.3, this commit now also uses the WM_CLASS EMWH property to grab the instance name and uses the associated icon, if the embedded icon hint is not present, pretty much eliminating this issue.

Offline

#5 2019-10-12 13:42:11

sushi
Member
Registered: 2019-04-22
Posts: 39

Re: [SOLVED] Panel showing the wrong icon.

Hi ToZ, thanks again,

I'm using xfwm4 4.14.0-1 and I could solve to problem with your link using xseticon (aur) and the /usr/local/bin script.

Great !

Offline

#6 2019-10-12 13:45:38

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,877

Re: [SOLVED] Panel showing the wrong icon.

If you are using 4.14, it should have been fixed. Can you post back the results of the "xprop" command? Click on the HDSPMixer app with the crosshairs that appear after running that command and post back the output.

Do you notice this happening with any other apps?

Offline

#7 2019-10-12 13:58:08

sushi
Member
Registered: 2019-04-22
Posts: 39

Re: [SOLVED] Panel showing the wrong icon.

This is what I get by clicking on hdpsmixer after xprop and the script enabled :

xprop
_NET_WM_ICON_GEOMETRY(CARDINAL) = 1328, 0, 40, 40
_NET_FRAME_EXTENTS(CARDINAL) = 1, 1, 26, 1
_NET_WM_ALLOWED_ACTIONS(ATOM) = _NET_WM_ACTION_CLOSE, _NET_WM_ACTION_ABOVE, _NET_WM_ACTION_BELOW, _NET_WM_ACTION_FULLSCREEN, _NET_WM_ACTION_MOVE, _NET_WM_ACTION_RESIZE, _NET_WM_ACTION_MAXIMIZE_HORZ, _NET_WM_ACTION_MAXIMIZE_VERT, _NET_WM_ACTION_SHADE, _NET_WM_ACTION_MINIMIZE, _NET_WM_ACTION_CHANGE_DESKTOP, _NET_WM_ACTION_STICK
WM_STATE(WM_STATE):
		window state: Normal
		icon window: 0xc4641b00
_NET_WM_DESKTOP(CARDINAL) = 0
_NET_WM_STATE(ATOM) = 
WM_COMMAND(STRING) = { "/usr/bin/hdspmixer" }
_NET_WM_ICON(CARDINAL) = 	Icon (36 x 36):
	░░░▒▒░░▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒░░▒▒▒▒░░▒▒▒░░▒▒▒░░▒▒▒
	░▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
	▒▓▓▓▒▒▓▓▓▒░▓▓▓▓▒▓▓▓▒░▒▓▓▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▒▓▓▓▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▓▒▒▒
	▒▓▓▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▓▒▒▓▓▓▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
	▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▒▓▒
	▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▒▓▒
	▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▒▓▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒
	░░▒▒▒░░▒▒▒▒░▒▓▒░░▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒░▒▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒
	▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▒
	▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▒
	▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▓▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▒▓▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
	▒▓▓▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▒▒▒▓▓▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▒▓▓▓▒
	▒▓▓▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▒▓▓▓▓▒▓▓▓▓▒▓▓▓▓▒▒▓▓▓▒▒▓▓▓▒
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
	░░░ ░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░ ░
	░░▒░░░░░░░▒░▒░░░░▒░░▒░░░░░░░░░▒░░▒░░
	▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
	▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▒▒▒▒▓▒▒


WM_HINTS(WM_HINTS):
		Client accepts input or input focus: True
XdndAware(ATOM) = ATOM
WM_CLASS(STRING) = "FLTK", "FLTK"
_MOTIF_WM_HINTS(_MOTIF_WM_HINTS) = 0x0, 0x1, 0x1, 0x0, 0x0
WM_NORMAL_HINTS(WM_SIZE_HINTS):
		user specified location: 0, 0
		program specified minimum size: 72 by 20
		program specified maximum size: 504 by 481
		window gravity: Static
WM_PROTOCOLS(ATOM): protocols  WM_DELETE_WINDOW
WM_ICON_NAME(STRING) = "HDSPMixer (Hammerfall DSP) preset01"
_NET_WM_ICON_NAME(UTF8_STRING) = "HDSPMixer (Hammerfall DSP) preset01"
WM_NAME(STRING) = "HDSPMixer (Hammerfall DSP) preset01"
_NET_WM_NAME(UTF8_STRING) = "HDSPMixer (Hammerfall DSP) preset01"
_NET_WM_PID(CARDINAL) = 92882
WM_LOCALE_NAME(STRING) = "ZZZZZ-8"
WM_CLIENT_MACHINE(STRING) = "ZZZZZ"

Edit :

No, it happens only with hdspmixer icon, all others are displayed without problem.

Edit 2 :

This is disabled script and wrong icon :

xprop
_NET_WM_ICON_GEOMETRY(CARDINAL) = 1328, 0, 40, 40
_NET_FRAME_EXTENTS(CARDINAL) = 1, 1, 26, 1
_NET_WM_ALLOWED_ACTIONS(ATOM) = _NET_WM_ACTION_CLOSE, _NET_WM_ACTION_ABOVE, _NET_WM_ACTION_BELOW, _NET_WM_ACTION_FULLSCREEN, _NET_WM_ACTION_MOVE, _NET_WM_ACTION_RESIZE, _NET_WM_ACTION_MAXIMIZE_HORZ, _NET_WM_ACTION_MAXIMIZE_VERT, _NET_WM_ACTION_SHADE, _NET_WM_ACTION_MINIMIZE, _NET_WM_ACTION_CHANGE_DESKTOP, _NET_WM_ACTION_STICK
WM_STATE(WM_STATE):
		window state: Normal
		icon window: 0xc4641b00
_NET_WM_DESKTOP(CARDINAL) = 0
_NET_WM_STATE(ATOM) = 
WM_COMMAND(STRING) = { "hdspmixer" }
_NET_WM_ICON(CARDINAL) = 
WM_HINTS(WM_HINTS):
		Client accepts input or input focus: True
XdndAware(ATOM) = ATOM
WM_CLASS(STRING) = "FLTK", "FLTK"
_MOTIF_WM_HINTS(_MOTIF_WM_HINTS) = 0x0, 0x1, 0x1, 0x0, 0x0
WM_NORMAL_HINTS(WM_SIZE_HINTS):
		user specified location: 0, 0
		program specified minimum size: 72 by 20
		program specified maximum size: 504 by 481
		window gravity: Static
WM_PROTOCOLS(ATOM): protocols  WM_DELETE_WINDOW
WM_ICON_NAME(STRING) = "HDSPMixer (Hammerfall DSP) preset01"
_NET_WM_ICON_NAME(UTF8_STRING) = "HDSPMixer (Hammerfall DSP) preset01"
WM_NAME(STRING) = "HDSPMixer (Hammerfall DSP) preset01"
_NET_WM_NAME(UTF8_STRING) = "HDSPMixer (Hammerfall DSP) preset01"
_NET_WM_PID(CARDINAL) = 93006
WM_LOCALE_NAME(STRING) = "ZZZZZ-8"
WM_CLIENT_MACHINE(STRING) = "ZZZZZ"

Last edited by sushi (2019-10-12 14:06:50)

Offline

#8 2019-10-12 14:44:49

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,877

Re: [SOLVED] Panel showing the wrong icon.

sushi wrote:

Edit 2 :

This is disabled script and wrong icon :

WM_CLASS(STRING) = "FLTK", "FLTK"

Ok thanks. Here is what is happening:

There is no NET_WM_ICON property enabled by default, so there is no icon there for xfwm4 to use. Plus, WM_CLASS holds the value FLTK, so it will use that icon. Most likely, the FLTK icon does not exist in your icon theme. In fact, the package itself does not contain that icon either. This is why it's displaying the default icon.

However, as you can see, the script works to add a _NET_WM_ICON property that xfwm4 then uses. That script is the best way forward unless you want to create a bug report with the alsa-tools developer and ask them to add a proper EMWH icon property or change the WM_CLASS property to correctly identify the app.

Offline

#9 2019-10-12 18:16:59

sushi
Member
Registered: 2019-04-22
Posts: 39

Re: [SOLVED] Panel showing the wrong icon.

Yep, I even don't know why fltk (which installed games like sudoku & blocks) is installed as a dependency of alsa-tools !!? Alsa is anyway a holly crap that we have to deal with (until "hopefully" something cleaner will erase). Hdspmixer exist since 2003 (16 years!) in alsa and I (we) have to suck ourself with such fundamentals errors.   

As far as it work with the script I have no time to waist putting my nose in a such thing like alsa (headache). So, the icon is set and no need for more.

Again, thanks ToZ for your help and explanations.

Enjoy your evening...

Offline

#10 2019-10-12 20:09:22

Aravisian
Member
Registered: 2019-08-17
Posts: 132

Re: [SOLVED] Panel showing the wrong icon.

sushi wrote:

Yep, I even don't know why fltk (which installed games like sudoku & blocks) is installed as a dependency of alsa-tools !!? Alsa is anyway a holly crap that we have to deal with (until "hopefully" something cleaner will erase). Hdspmixer exist since 2003 (16 years!) in alsa and I (we) have to suck ourself with such fundamentals errors.   

As far as it work with the script I have no time to waist putting my nose in a such thing like alsa (headache). So, the icon is set and no need for more.

Every bit of this post is so much of what we can all relate to...

Offline

#11 2019-10-12 20:48:35

MrEen
Member
Registered: 2019-04-19
Posts: 77

Re: [SOLVED] Panel showing the wrong icon.

Just a minor point.

The offending software is alsa-tools-gui. alsa-tools is a different package that doesn't have libfltk as a dependency.

Offline

#12 2019-10-13 07:19:15

sushi
Member
Registered: 2019-04-22
Posts: 39

Re: [SOLVED] Panel showing the wrong icon.

MrEen wrote:

Just a minor point..

It depends on what to consider as minor, at the end we all can return to the terminal without any GUI...

MrEen wrote:

The offending software is alsa-tools-gui. alsa-tools is a different package that doesn't have libfltk as a dependency.

Alsa-tools-gui doesn't exist in Archlinux it's alsa-tools :

pacman -Qi alsa-tools
Nom                      : alsa-tools
Version                  : 1.1.7-1
Description              : Advanced tools for certain sound cards
Architecture             : x86_64
URL                      : https://alsa-project.org/
Licences                 : GPL2
Groupes                  : --
Fournit                  : alsa-tools-emu10k1  alsa-tools-ice1712
Dépend de                : alsa-lib  gcc-libs
Dépendances opt.         : fltk: hdspconf, hdspmixer [installé]
                           gtk2: envy24control, echomixer, rmeddigicontrol [installé]
                           gtk3: hdajackretask [installé]
                           python-pyalsa: hwmixvolume
                           python-gobject: hwmixvolume [installé]
Requis par               : --
Optionnel pour           : --
Est en conflit avec      : --
Remplace                 : --
Taille installée         : 1475.00 KiB
Paqueteur                : David Runge <dave@sleepmap.de>
Compilé le               : jeu 18 oct 2018 19:08:20 CEST
Installé le              : ven 13 sep 2019 17:48:14 CEST
Motif d’installation     : Explicitement installé
Script d’installation    : Non
Validé par               : Signature

pacman -Qi fltk
Nom                      : fltk
Version                  : 1.3.5-1
Description              : Graphical user interface toolkit for X
Architecture             : x86_64
URL                      : https://www.fltk.org/
Licences                 : custom  LGPL
Groupes                  : --
Fournit                  : --
Dépend de                : cairo  desktop-file-utils  glu  hicolor-icon-theme  libjpeg  libxcursor  libxft  libxinerama  shared-mime-info
                           xdg-utils
Dépendances opt.         : alsa-lib: for sudoku example application [installé]
Requis par               : --
Optionnel pour           : alsa-tools
Est en conflit avec      : --
Remplace                 : fltk-games
Taille installée         : 8.24 MiB
Paqueteur                : David Runge <dave@sleepmap.de>
Compilé le               : lun 11 mar 2019 18:07:08 CET
Installé le              : jeu 10 oct 2019 13:54:09 CEST
Motif d’installation     : Explicitement installé
Script d’installation    : Non
Validé par               : Signature

Offline

#13 2019-10-13 15:14:42

MrEen
Member
Registered: 2019-04-19
Posts: 77

Re: [SOLVED] Panel showing the wrong icon.

My apologies. Ubuntu/Debian packages them differently. All the GUI tools are in alsa-tools-gui.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB