Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2020-11-17 06:55:18

zomgomg
Member
Registered: 2020-11-17
Posts: 3

Configure thunar automount feature

I use Xfce with Arch and today I 'activated' the automount features of thunar with the packages gvfs, udisks2 and thunar-volman (+ 'exec dbus-launch thunar' entry in .xinitrc).

Now each USB device is automatically mounted and displayed on the desktop. And there we come to
problem 1: The internal hard drive on which Arch is located (/dev/sda) is also displayed. Can you turn that off?

Further problems:
problem 2: Every device (except of course /dev/sda) should be mounted read-only, where can I store this at Thunar?
problem 3: Is it possible to move the display of the automatically mounted devices from the desktop somewhere else? E.g. in /home/user/Desktop/MountFolder/? So i get a cleaner desktop.
problem 4: Is it possible to change the mountpoint? By default it's /run/media/... but i want e.g. /mnt/...

Last edited by zomgomg (2020-11-17 07:14:42)

Offline

#2 2020-11-17 09:36:16

peter.48
Member
Registered: 2017-01-31
Posts: 57

Re: Configure thunar automount feature

For the icons nothing more simple than a right click on the desktop --> desktop configuration --> third tab "icons" --> "default icons"

Each mounted or nomounted USB drive is displayed on the side pane of the Thunar, isn't that enough? do you really need "mount folder"?

To change mounting point, or directly in "fstab" in /etc, or in menu --> accessories --> disks (gnome-disc-utility), is the easiest and most practical option (not only for mounting points).

You also have the "places" item for panel, which allows you to mount, unmount and access all the discs...

Last edited by peter.48 (2020-11-17 09:57:45)

Offline

#3 2020-11-17 10:27:59

zomgomg
Member
Registered: 2020-11-17
Posts: 3

Re: Configure thunar automount feature

I think you totaly misunderstood my post.

peter.48 wrote:

For the icons nothing more simple than a right click on the desktop --> desktop configuration --> third tab "icons" --> "default icons"

Non of my question was about changing any icons.

peter.48 wrote:

Each mounted or nomounted USB drive is displayed on the side pane of the Thunar, isn't that enough? do you really need "mount folder"?

Yeah, sure, its on the side pane of thunar. But also on the desktop. Also thunar automount shows up my system partiton /dev/sda. My question is about the Desktop. See question 1 and 3.

Offline

#4 2020-11-17 12:33:16

peter.48
Member
Registered: 2017-01-31
Posts: 57

Re: Configure thunar automount feature

zomgomg wrote:

I think you totaly misunderstood my post.

Non of my question was about changing any icons.

My question is about the Desktop. See question 1 and 3.

Captura-de-pantalla-2020-11-17-13-20-24.png

I have understood perfectly.
At no time I have written about changing icons (notebene in desktop configuration there is no such option). In the mentioned desktop configuration you can mark which icons you want to appear and which not.
From your answer I assume that you are one of those who answer before seeing or without knowing, because it is evident that you have not even looked at the desktop configuration.

Last edited by peter.48 (2020-11-17 12:38:23)

Offline

#5 2020-11-17 13:13:13

peter.48
Member
Registered: 2017-01-31
Posts: 57

Re: Configure thunar automount feature

Concerning the "Mount Folder", create your folder, and then on the "Disks" put this folder as the usb device mount point you want.
discos-usb-montaje.png
thunar-usb.png

PS.Neither it wouldn't be a bad idea to do a small presentation in the "Say Hello" before posting for the first time. tongue

Last edited by peter.48 (2020-11-17 13:23:51)

Offline

#6 2020-11-17 14:56:06

zomgomg
Member
Registered: 2020-11-17
Posts: 3

Re: Configure thunar automount feature

well, i have to apologize, thank you.

Offline

#7 2020-11-17 15:43:36

alcornoqui
Member
Registered: 2014-07-28
Posts: 763

Re: Configure thunar automount feature

smile Welcome to the forum, zomgomg!

Offline

#8 2020-11-17 19:26:13

peter.48
Member
Registered: 2017-01-31
Posts: 57

Re: Configure thunar automount feature

zomgomg wrote:

well, i have to apologize, thank you.

There is nothing for apologize, have a good configuration wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB