Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2023-10-28 04:51:49

Sideburns
Member
From: Trinidad, CO
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 467
Website

Problem configuring the panel on a new installation

I've just installed Fedora 35 and Xfce 4.16 on my laptop and am trying to get the desktop looking the way I want.  Part of this is getting the apps I want on the panel, and getting them where on the panel they belong.  The first part works fine.  However, if I try to move an app across the panel, it ends up right where it was before, and there doesn't seem to be any way to force them to move.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#2 2023-10-28 20:22:11

Bamber
Member
Registered: 2023-03-05
Posts: 8

Re: Problem configuring the panel on a new installation

Unless you have a specific reason to install Fedora 35 be aware it's an old release, not supported since December 2022.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fedora_Li … se_history

Offline

#3 2023-10-28 20:34:28

Sideburns
Member
From: Trinidad, CO
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 467
Website

Re: Problem configuring the panel on a new installation

Yes, I have a very specific reason: F 38 and 37 Live images have a known bug that makes them hang at the grub> prompt.  I'm planning on upgrading RSN, but don't understand what that has to do with my question.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#4 2023-10-28 22:29:40

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 11,202

Re: Problem configuring the panel on a new installation

What are you referring to when you say "app"? Is this a launcher or another panel plugin?

Also, I assume you are right-clicking and selecting "move" then moving to another location on the panel. Is it the same panel or a different panel?

Here is you can get some debug info:

xfce4-panel -q
PANEL_DEBUG=1 xfce4-panel

...and try to move it again. See if anything is posted in the output.


Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#5 2023-10-28 22:35:13

Sideburns
Member
From: Trinidad, CO
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 467
Website

Re: Problem configuring the panel on a new installation

Yes; launchers and plugins.  (Oh my!)  And yes, I'm trying to change their position on the panel, not move them to a different one.  I'll try your suggestion and see what happens.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#6 2023-10-29 00:03:48

Sideburns
Member
From: Trinidad, CO
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 467
Website

Re: Problem configuring the panel on a new installation

I get a whole bunch of Gtk warnings.  Here's the last one:

wrapper-2.0:33927): Gtk-WARNING **: 18:00:14.775: gtk_widget_size_allocate(): attempt to allocate widget with width -1 and height 24
xfce4-panel(application): saving /panels/panel-1: ids=true, providers=false


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#7 2023-10-29 10:18:25

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 11,202

Re: Problem configuring the panel on a new installation

That's just a warning - perhaps you can post back the full output.

Did right-clicking on the plugin, selecting "move" and moving the plugin work? The other way to move plugins is to right-click on the panel and select Panel > Panel Preference > Items tab, and use the arrow buttons on the right-hand side of the dialog to move the plugins around. See: https://docs.xfce.org/xfce/xfce4-panel/ … nces#items.


Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#8 2023-10-29 16:31:41

Sideburns
Member
From: Trinidad, CO
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 467
Website

Re: Problem configuring the panel on a new installation

No, right clicking and moving didn't work; I didn't know about that other way but will try it now that I do.?  And all of the messages were like that; just warnings.

Last edited by Sideburns (2023-10-29 16:53:53)


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#9 2023-10-29 18:30:35

JmaCWQ
Member
Registered: 2022-12-06
Posts: 42

Re: Problem configuring the panel on a new installation

Separators?
They can make a difference where things move or don't move to.

Offline

#10 2023-10-29 23:03:01

Bamber
Member
Registered: 2023-03-05
Posts: 8

Re: Problem configuring the panel on a new installation

JmaCWQ wrote:

Separators?

I was thinking of that too.

Offline

#11 2023-10-29 23:46:35

Sideburns
Member
From: Trinidad, CO
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 467
Website

Re: Problem configuring the panel on a new installation

Everything seems to be going OK now, except for one thing.  There's at least one plugin, the Status Tray Plugin, that I can't put on the bottom panel, only the top.  That's a problem because I want to get rid of the top panel completely and only have the bottom one because that's how I like things.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#12 2023-10-30 00:00:03

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 11,202

Re: Problem configuring the panel on a new installation

Remove it from the top panel first, then add it to the bottom. Only one instance of it can be running at any time.


Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#13 2023-10-30 00:13:24

Sideburns
Member
From: Trinidad, CO
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 467
Website

Re: Problem configuring the panel on a new installation

I already tried that.  Even if I remove it from the top panel, it's grayed out when I try to put it on the bottom panel.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

#14 2023-10-30 01:48:19

ToZ
Administrator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 11,202

Re: Problem configuring the panel on a new installation

That is odd. Once you have it removed from the top panel, restart the panel:

xfce4-panel -r

Does the plugin show up again in the top panel? If not, can you now add it to the bottom panel?


Please remember to mark your thread [SOLVED] to make it easier for others to find
--- How To Ask For Help | FAQ | Developer Wiki  |  Community | Contribute ---

Offline

#15 2023-10-30 05:23:47

Sideburns
Member
From: Trinidad, CO
Registered: 2011-03-30
Posts: 467
Website

Re: Problem configuring the panel on a new installation

Thanx; the plugin is now on the bottom where I want it.  I'll not mark this thread solved just yet, in case I run into any more issues, but I think I've just about beaten my desktop into submission.


Registered Linux user #470359
Permanently recovered BOFH
Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB