Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-10-03 17:58:09

cake
Member
Registered: 2018-10-03
Posts: 1

run application on certain desktop.

hey there! xfce is awesome, really. thanks for everyone who is somehow related to it.

now to the question. I have multiple machines with xfce, all of them sync home folders.
and I want to make startup script for each of them. like on my office workstation I want to start Firefox on first desktop, IDE on second, Terminal on third and messenger on fourth. desktops I mean those that you have on the top-right by default.

tl;dr how to start application from command line on first, second or any other desktop?

thanks!

== edit ==

found one acceptable answer: use wmctrl.

Last edited by cake (2018-10-03 18:05:30)

Offline

#2 2018-10-03 22:18:15

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 4,846

Re: run application on certain desktop.

Hello and welcome.

I use devilspie and the "set_workspace" directive to place applications on specific workspaces/desktops.

Offline

#3 2018-10-04 00:54:00

corstar
Member
From: Perth, Western Australia
Registered: 2018-09-24
Posts: 6
Website

Re: run application on certain desktop.

I have achieved this in the past by using Xfce and Openbox as the window manager. I've written a post about it several years ago, but still the exact same process. In the Openbox rc file, you can specify each desktop and even the states of each window.

http://corypollard.com/entries/linux/us … er-in-xfce

And here's a link to customizing the Openbox rc

http://openbox.org/wiki/Help:Configuration

Offline

#4 2018-10-04 01:01:33

ToZ
Moderator
From: Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 4,846

Re: run application on certain desktop.

corstar wrote:

I have achieved this in the past by using Xfce and Openbox as the window manager.

Replacing the window manager is a very drastic workaround for something that can be handled with a small utility.

Offline

#5 2018-10-04 01:14:37

corstar
Member
From: Perth, Western Australia
Registered: 2018-09-24
Posts: 6
Website

Re: run application on certain desktop.

I've never had any issues with it. Ran it for years on both Mate and Xfce, using openbox as the window manager.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB