Xfce Forum

Sub domains
 

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-03-08 15:46:43

Jiff
Member
Registered: 2011-11-09
Posts: 6

No sound in orage

Debian sid
pulseaudio
orage 4.8.3-1
==============
Hi,

Despite a correct configuration, I don't have any sound when an alarm pops up.

* play -q /usr/share/orage/sounds/Spo.wav works perfectly on command line,
* alarm is set to: 0 days, 0 hours, 0 mins, After start,
* all checkboxes are checked but the "procedure" one & the sound file is correctly choosen,
* I hit "save" to make sure it will be the default behavior

I also checked that ~/.config/orage/orage_default_alarm.txt reflects my conf:

[DEFAULT ALARM]
TIME=0
BEFORE=false
RELATED_START=true
PERSISTENT=true
SOUND_USE=true
SOUND=/usr/share/orage/sounds/Spo.wav
SOUND_REPEAT_USE=true
SOUND_REPEAT_CNT=500
SOUND_REPEAT_LEN=45
DISPLAY_ORAGE_USE=true
DISPLAY_NOTIFY_USE=true
DISPLAY_NOTIFY_TIMEOUT=-1
PROCEDURE_USE=false

I'm currently out of options.

Offline

#2 2013-04-17 21:21:05

donaldbroatch
Member
Registered: 2013-03-09
Posts: 14

Re: No sound in orage

I had the same problem- try changing

Sound application=play

to

Sound application=aplay

in

~/.config/orage/oragerc

(Debian Wheezy.)

EDIT: Ooops! I notice you tried "play" in the command line and it worked, so my advice won't help with your problem, but it may help other Debian users who come across this page via a web search. The "aplay" command does fix the no sound issue on Debian Wheezy.

Last edited by donaldbroatch (2013-04-18 06:12:04)

Offline

#3 2013-04-19 20:24:07

Jiff
Member
Registered: 2011-11-09
Posts: 6

Re: No sound in orage

Thanks Don, I did that but I'm not sure it will work as this behavior is a random one (and I guess I already tested that).

When it appears, I change the conf, then re-change it and if the test's ok I don't touch it anymore.

Offline

#4 2016-08-11 18:54:34

ColdBoot
Member
Registered: 2016-07-19
Posts: 17

Re: No sound in orage

I still have the same problem in 4.12. Sound was working then something broke it even though both play and aplay are working from the command line. Any ideas how to fix it?

Last edited by ColdBoot (2016-08-11 18:55:08)

Offline

#5 2016-08-12 01:06:25

MountainDewManiac
Member
From: USA police-state welfare-state
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 770

Re: No sound in orage

ColdBoot wrote:

I still have the same problem in 4.12. Sound was working then something broke it even though both play and aplay are working from the command line. Any ideas how to fix it?

The usual advice when something behaved the way you wished at one point in time but, at a later point in time, behaved differently: Determine the time/date when the change occurred, then determine what that change was. Did you remove something that was needed for functionality? Did you install something that did the same as part of its installation? Did you change a configuration/setting, or did something that you install do so? Did you allow an update (either via your distro's - whichever distro that is - update manger or through a terminal command) which might have done so?

Things that "used to happen but then stopped" are different than things that never happened, lol. Some kind of definite change took place that changed the behavior.

Regards,
MDM


Mountain Dew Maniac

How to Ask for Help <=== Click on this link

Offline

#6 2016-08-12 12:16:09

ColdBoot
Member
Registered: 2016-07-19
Posts: 17

Re: No sound in orage

Well, there where system updates involved, for sure, but I also don't quite understand this since Orage is not playing sounds on its own but merely calling external program to do it. I don't expect that sys calls to run an external program have changed twice in short time because I had the same problem before and fixed it only to have it back again and nothing would be working, not only sound in Orage.

Last edited by ColdBoot (2016-08-12 12:20:11)

Offline

#7 2016-08-12 19:43:56

MountainDewManiac
Member
From: USA police-state welfare-state
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 770

Re: No sound in orage

My first thought would be the same as yours. But it is possible that a change in whichever application that Orage uses (or even a settings change in same) could have caused the issue. IDK whether or not it would be likely.

Some time ago, users could tell applications to display a web page (such as a help page, a web page that contained screenshots, et cetera) and those applications would simply pass the target web address on in such a way that one's browser would open (if necessary) and display that web page. Then a change happened - I do not remember if it was in the browser itself (Firefox, in my case) or in some simple little "helper application." This broke the functionality. IDK if that has since been restored or not.

Did any of the updates you have installed end up removing something? Or changing a configuration somewhere? Even a simple change could do it; if Orage defaults to using a certain thing, and that thing's behavior - or configuration - changed, this could affect the functionality (that you are missing).

Here is one (short) thread that offered a solution:

https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2299847

I found it by typing "orage sound 4.12" (sans quotation marks) into a web search engine. It was the third result (and the first "non-rpm" one, so the first that I actually looked at, lol). There appear to be 21,399 additional results from that search. One or more of them might have the solution that you are looking for.

Regards,
MDM


Mountain Dew Maniac

How to Ask for Help <=== Click on this link

Offline

#8 2016-08-12 22:06:07

ColdBoot
Member
Registered: 2016-07-19
Posts: 17

Re: No sound in orage

I have just checked if I have any broken dependencies with

apt-get check

and it didn't return any. Also checked the dependencies of Orage itself and all libraries are intact. Mostly newer versions, though. BTW, using Xubuntu 14.04, forgot to mention.

Thanks, for the link, I've read it some time ago as well as many others(since this one didn't help) and managed to fix the sound problem but, not a long time ago, it mysteriously reappeared.

Offline

#9 2016-08-12 23:25:29

ColdBoot
Member
Registered: 2016-07-19
Posts: 17

Re: No sound in orage

BTW, I thought I may see something in the output of dmesg when time comes to sound the alarm, but no. So, I was wondering if Orage is logging its errors someplace and whether it can be run in debug mode?

Offline

#10 2016-08-12 23:38:46

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 2,904

Re: No sound in orage

ColdBoot wrote:

BTW, I thought I may see something in the output of dmesg when time comes to sound the alarm, but no. So, I was wondering if Orage is logging its errors someplace and whether it can be run in debug mode?

It looks like orage logs to ~/.xsession-errors. The ~/.config/orage/oragerc file has a "Logging Level" parameter. The default is 0 which logs everything.


How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#11 2016-08-13 01:48:49

ColdBoot
Member
Registered: 2016-07-19
Posts: 17

Re: No sound in orage

ToZ wrote:
ColdBoot wrote:

BTW, I thought I may see something in the output of dmesg when time comes to sound the alarm, but no. So, I was wondering if Orage is logging its errors someplace and whether it can be run in debug mode?

It looks like orage logs to ~/.xsession-errors. The ~/.config/orage/oragerc file has a "Logging Level" parameter. The default is 0 which logs everything.

Thanks ToZ,

I haven't fiddled with Logging Level so it was set to 0, as you say, but no luck. Nothing odd to be seen in .xsession-errors. Except, I tried it several times and first time around it actually sounded the alarm!XD But in all subsequent attempts remained silent so, I'm none the wiser for trying.

Last edited by ColdBoot (2016-08-13 01:49:31)

Offline

#12 2016-08-13 15:18:30

ColdBoot
Member
Registered: 2016-07-19
Posts: 17

Re: No sound in orage

Ok, since I couldn't get it to sound the alarm, I've tried alternate approach. I've put a for loop in procedure that repeats the sound 5 times. The problem is, the command, when run from Orage sound the alarm just once although it performs as expected from the terminal. Do I have to write something extra in the "Procedure" field to make it work properly?

screenshot2016-08-1317-00-00.png

Edit: Tooltip merely say: "This string is given to shell to process" but I do not understand the further tags given.

Last edited by ColdBoot (2016-08-13 15:37:14)

Offline

#13 2016-08-13 17:10:16

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 2,904

Re: No sound in orage

Using the same settings as your screenshot works for me (so your command is correct).

Try this, prior to clicking execute, open a terminal window and run the following:

tail -f ~/.xsession-errors

...then click Execute. Post back what is displayed in the terminal window.


How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#14 2016-08-13 17:31:35

ColdBoot
Member
Registered: 2016-07-19
Posts: 17

Re: No sound in orage

Here's the shot,

screenshot2016-08-1319-26-07.png

and it doesn't look like there were any errors pertaining to Orage. Are you shure it's logging errors in xsession-errors?

Edit:Anyways, instead of executing a for loop in the "Command" field, I wrote a simple script that takes 2 arguments for number of repetitions and pause between alarm sounds and that works for me.

Thanks for bearing with me. smile

Last edited by ColdBoot (2016-08-13 18:24:50)

Offline

#15 2016-08-13 19:00:18

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 2,904

Re: No sound in orage

I'm not sure what to say. Orage does log to ~/.xsession-errors (see: http://www.kolumbus.fi/~w408237/orage/o … documented). On my system, this is what I get in the log:

/usr/share/orage/sounds/Spo.wav:

 File Size: 14.4k     Bit Rate: 177k
  Encoding: Signed PCM    
  Channels: 1 @ 16-bit   
Samplerate: 11025Hz      
Replaygain: off         
  Duration: 00:00:00.65  

In:100%  00:00:00.65 [00:00:00.00] Out:7.17k [      |      ] Hd:0.0 Clip:0    
Done.

/usr/share/orage/sounds/Spo.wav:

 File Size: 14.4k     Bit Rate: 177k
  Encoding: Signed PCM    
  Channels: 1 @ 16-bit   
Samplerate: 11025Hz      
Replaygain: off         
  Duration: 00:00:00.65  

In:100%  00:00:00.65 [00:00:00.00] Out:7.17k [      |      ] Hd:0.0 Clip:0    
Done.

/usr/share/orage/sounds/Spo.wav:

 File Size: 14.4k     Bit Rate: 177k
  Encoding: Signed PCM    
  Channels: 1 @ 16-bit   
Samplerate: 11025Hz      
Replaygain: off         
  Duration: 00:00:00.65  

In:100%  00:00:00.65 [00:00:00.00] Out:7.17k [      |      ] Hd:0.0 Clip:0    
Done.

/usr/share/orage/sounds/Spo.wav:

 File Size: 14.4k     Bit Rate: 177k
  Encoding: Signed PCM    
  Channels: 1 @ 16-bit   
Samplerate: 11025Hz      
Replaygain: off         
  Duration: 00:00:00.65  

In:100%  00:00:00.65 [00:00:00.00] Out:7.17k [      |      ] Hd:0.0 Clip:0    
Done.

/usr/share/orage/sounds/Spo.wav:

 File Size: 14.4k     Bit Rate: 177k
  Encoding: Signed PCM    
  Channels: 1 @ 16-bit   
Samplerate: 11025Hz      
Replaygain: off         
  Duration: 00:00:00.65  

In:100%  00:00:00.65 [00:00:00.00] Out:7.17k [      |      ] Hd:0.0 Clip:0    
Done.

Does debian sid log its xsession errors elsewhere?

Also, debian sid has orage version 4.12, but in your original post you say you are running 4.8. Is this correct?


How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#16 2016-08-13 19:40:14

ColdBoot
Member
Registered: 2016-07-19
Posts: 17

Re: No sound in orage

No, Jiff is on Debian sid and he's the OP, I just didn't want to open a new thread for the same question.

I'm using Xubuntu 14.04 64-bit, sorry for the misunderstanding and thanks for your kind help. smile

Edit: using Xfce 4.12 from backports repo... sorry.

Last edited by ColdBoot (2016-08-13 19:48:45)

Offline

#17 2016-08-13 19:50:41

MountainDewManiac
Member
From: USA police-state welfare-state
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 770

Re: No sound in orage

That's why it's important to start a new thread when the issue is on a different distro, different app version, different DE versions (I am guessing that you are using Xfce 4.10?), et cetera.

Placing your system information in your .SIG so it appears at the bottom of every post you make here would also seem to be a good idea.

Regards,
MDM


Mountain Dew Maniac

How to Ask for Help <=== Click on this link

Offline

#18 2016-08-13 20:01:24

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 2,904

Re: No sound in orage

@ColdBoot, sorry about that. What version of orage are you running?

orage --version

How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#19 2016-08-13 20:17:54

ColdBoot
Member
Registered: 2016-07-19
Posts: 17

Re: No sound in orage

MountainDewManiac wrote:

That's why it's important to start a new thread when the issue is on a different distro, different app version, different DE versions (I am guessing that you are using Xfce 4.10?), et cetera.

Placing your system information in your .SIG so it appears at the bottom of every post you make here would also seem to be a good idea.

Regards,
MDM

Sorry, they don't like double posts on some forums and I got used to it.

@ToZ

orage --version
	This is orage version 4.10.0

	Released under the terms of the GNU General Public License.
	Compiled against GTK+-2.24.23, using GTK+-2.24.23.
	Not using DBUS. Import works only partially.
	Using libnotify.
	Using automatic archiving.
	Using operating system package libical.

Offline

#20 2016-08-13 22:52:40

ToZ
Moderator
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 2,904

Re: No sound in orage

Unfortunately, that PPA has a orage version that is 2 versions out of date. That being said, there doesn't appear to be any change in the code that fires off the sound event. It simply executes the sound command (the default being "play").

Do you get no output in ~/.xsession-errors when you click the execute button? Does Debian sid log its X session errors elsewhere?


How To Ask For Help           Xfce FAQ                            Xfce Release Information
The Xfce Community          Xfce Tips and Tricks

Offline

#21 2016-08-13 23:08:05

ColdBoot
Member
Registered: 2016-07-19
Posts: 17

Re: No sound in orage

No, Orage doesn't log anything in that file and I doubt that X session errors are logged in a different file in Xubuntu 14.04 because, as you could see in the screenshot, I get error messages from other apps(Samba is misconfigured as I'm not using it).

Offline

#22 2016-08-14 00:35:11

ColdBoot
Member
Registered: 2016-07-19
Posts: 17

Re: No sound in orage

ColdBoot wrote:

Ok, since I couldn't get it to sound the alarm, I've tried alternate approach. I've put a for loop in procedure that repeats the sound 5 times. The problem is, the command, when run from Orage sound the alarm just once although it performs as expected from the terminal.

For what it's worth, if prefixed with

 bash -c 

the for loop I've tried before works as expected.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB